1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

What is the best way to shoot HDR in the gh3?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by cuervo.taylor, Jun 6, 2013.

1. cuervo.taylor

cuervo.taylor Mu-43 Regular

May 20, 2013
    Hi guys,

I'm an newb in photography and been reading a lot of books.

I wanted to know when do you use to shoot HDR and how you do it?

for example:

Do you use the auto HDR only for JPEG in the GH3?

Or you prefer to shoot HDR manually in RAW?

Is there anyway to do it automatically in RAW?

If I shoot HDR pictures I must have a tripod right?

2. tuanies

tuanies Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 13, 2011
    Graham, WA
    Tuan Huynh
    Few times I did HDR, I just shot a single exposure RAW and tossed it in HDR Efex Pro.

If you shoot RAW by taking multiple bracketed exposures, its recommended to use a tripod unless you can hold your hand steady for a minimum of 3-5 consecutive shots.

I did this by hand with a single exposure RAW.

8939452421_8c7e0269f4_c.
    P1050624_HDR-Edit by tuanies, on Flickr

Here's the standard version.

8939451435_77024a4697_c.
    P1050624 by tuanies, on Flickr

3. jloden

jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 15, 2012
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Jay
    I wanted to know when do you use to shoot HDR and how you do it?

HDR is for when a scene has a lot of dynamic range, a.k.a. lots of tonal range between the brightest highlights and darkest shadows. Our eyes can see more dynamic range than our cameras, so you use HDR to merge a range of under/overexposed images together and preserve highlights and shadows in the same photo. A good example might be a landscape with a very bright sky; if you expose for the sky, the ground will be very dark - but if you expose for the ground the sky will be blown out. So you merge a range of exposures in HDR to combine properly exposed areas of both in one image.