1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

What is the best micro 4/3 camera for stills out there?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by cuervo.taylor, May 21, 2013.

1. cuervo.taylor

cuervo.taylor Mu-43 Regular

May 20, 2013
    Hi guys,

I'm an amateur and enthusiast photographer learning by myself and lots of books. Loving the m4/3 systems as I'm a backpacker and sometimes go backpacking for two months, 3 weeks, etc.

I have a recently bought panny gh3+voigtlander 25mm f 0.95 (loving this lens)+panny 7-14mm.

But I have read some commentaries about gh3 being great for video but not so great for stills.

I wanted to know what is the best micro four thirds camera in the market for stills? and why you consider it the best?

appreaciate any help/advice/info.

2. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Keith
    I don't know that I've necessarily heard/read anything negative per se about the GH3 with stills. It's just that the design is very video-centric and so it wouldn't be the first :43: camera I would recommend to someone with no interest in video simply due to the price and size.

If you really want to go with a second body for stills, the 5-axis IBIS offered by the Olympus E-M5 (as well as the recently announced E-P5) might provide some marginal benefit over the GH3, but all three cameras share the same sensor, so the difference is likely to be minimal.

Sent from my SGH-T779 using Mu-43 mobile app

3. Jonathan F/2

Jonathan F/2 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 10, 2011
    Los Angeles, CA
    GH3 and the OM-D are the best at the moment. The E-P5 is also better in certain respects.

4. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    There is no best m4/3 for stills, and that's the beauty of the system! Each body model is unique with its own advantages.

That said, I would take a good hard look at the Pen E-P5 and OM-D E-M5.