What is IBIS? ....

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by TheHandyAndy, Sep 4, 2011.

1. TheHandyAndy

TheHandyAndy New to Mu-43

Sep 3, 2011
    .... I have come across this and would love to know what it is as the only other IBIS I know of is a hotel chain.....yes I am new to 4/3....really enjoying getting to know my new panny GF2..

Andrew

2. fredlong

fredlong Just this guy...

Apr 18, 2011
    Massachusetts USA
    Fred
    Welcome!

IBIS=In Body Image Stabilization

Fred

3. LovinTheEP2

LovinTheEP2 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 15, 2011
    Toronto
    In Body Image Stablization

2 types of stablization, in body (sensor shift etc) or in lens. Panasonic stablizes some of their lens in lens vs. Olympus which stablizes in body so any lens is stablized.

You can't use both a the same though .. you have to turn off one approach.

4. anidel

anidel Mu-43 Regular

May 13, 2011
    Twickenham, Uk
    And I am enjoying it a lot on my E-PL2 :)

5. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    Your GF-2 doesn't have IBIS. You need to get lenses with OIS (Optical Image Stabilization) to use IS on the GF-2.

6. flash

flash Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 29, 2010
    1 hour from Sydney Australia.
    Gordon
    Yes you can. No issues with the two systems confusing each other. Whether it makes any improvement is debatable though. I use a 45-200 on my EP2 all the time and never turn off the IBIS. Too lazy to hunt through the menus.

Gordon

7. Mellow

Mellow Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 27, 2010
    Florida or Idaho
    Tom
    IBIS makes this possible:

Taken with my E-PL1, 1/5 second, ISO 200, handheld:

downtown2-9049778.

That's a 100% crop. Here's the full image:
    downtown-9049778.

• Like Like x 1
  8. LovinTheEP2

Feb 15, 2011
    Toronto
    IBIS helped a lot but there is still some shake.. I would have bumped the iso to 400 and decreased the shutter speed to 1/10th if you had the chance to retake the shot at that moment.

9. Mellow

Mellow Mu-43 All-Pro