What image aspect ratio should I have my OM-D set at?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by LowriderS10, Jul 24, 2013.

1. LowriderS10

LowriderS10 Monkey with a camera.

May 19, 2013
    Canada
    Hi guys,

I know this is probably a dumb question, but I've never had a camera that had a user selectable image aspect ratio...

The manual refers to the 4:3 as being "standard," but I thought the *INDUSTRY* standard was 3:2 (ie: 36x24mm film/full frame), and if I recall correctly, all full-frame, APS-C, etc cameras are 3:2. I know in RAW you get the 4:3 anyways, but I shoot 90% JPEG.

So what should I set it on and why?

2. LowriderS10

May 19, 2013
    Canada
    Oh and I know that 4:3 will allow me to crop to a 3:2, but I like to frame my shots in camera as much as possible...I'm more thinking for web display and printing...

On the one hand, I want to stick with 3:2, because that's what I've been shooting for 20+ years. On the other hand, I feel like that would be "wasting" some of the sensor...also, since I shoot UWA 90% of the time, the larger area of the 4:3 would effectively mean that I would be able to fit more into the frame...

3. bassman

bassman Mu-43 Top Veteran

Apr 22, 2013
    New Jersey
    Scott
    It all depends how you like to crop for printing and posting ... Simply choose 4:3 or 3:2 or whatever matches the best.

4. b_rubenstein

b_rubenstein Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 20, 2012
    Melbourne, FL
    First off, 3:2 was unique to 35mm film. No standard print size was 3:2 except for 4x6, and that was only because 35mm P&S cameras became popular in the early 80's. CRT TV's & computer screens were 4:3. Unitl wides screen movies were introduced, they were 4:3. 8 1/2 x 11 paper is almost exactly 4:3. Standard print sizes like 5x7, 8x10 & 11x14 are much closer to 4:3. This is one of the big advantages of 4/3 for me. I think a finished picture is a print.

For web display the aspect ratio doesn't matter.

5. LowriderS10

May 19, 2013
    Canada