1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

What does LR6 Do That OV3 Doesn't?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Carbonman, May 27, 2015.

1. Carbonman

Carbonman Mu-43 All-Pro

Jul 10, 2014
    Vancouver BC
    Graham
    I'm looking at LR6 as a more powerful editing tool but can't find any comparison of features between the two. What advantages does Lightroom 6 have over Olympus Viewer 3 besides processing speed? I'd like to try some more advanced techniques like image stacking, selective sharpening and selective lightening/darkening. I'm new to digital image processing, only having used OV3 and Irfanview to generate TIFs and JPGs.

2. gryphon1911

gryphon1911 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 13, 2014
    Central Ohio, USA
    Andrew
    So far I've seen a massive difference in RAW processing - giving OV3 a huge point in its favor.

That being said, if you shoot JPG or process RAW to TIFF or JPG in OV3 - then the workflow and easy of process definitely goes to Lightroom.

3. Carbonman

Carbonman Mu-43 All-Pro

Jul 10, 2014
    Vancouver BC
    Graham
    My typical use of OV3 is to process RAW and export as resized JPG for posting on Flickr and full size 16-bit TIF if I'm getting prints to hang in future. What does LR do that can't be accomplished with OV3?

4. mpg01

mpg01 Mu-43 Regular

Oct 21, 2012
    The thing that really drew me over to LR is the adjustment speed. OV3 can be painfully slow. But it does interpret all of the Olympus specific image processing. For instance if you shoot raw and set the picture mode to Monochrome, OV3 displays your image as such but LR will not recognize it and you would need to desaturate. OV3 is also free with your Olympus purchase.

5. T N Args

T N Args Agent Photocateur

Dec 3, 2013
    Adelaide, Australia
    call me Arg
    LR allows you to do correct colour conversion.
    LR allows flexible multichannel B&W conversion.