What does $200 more get me? Epl3 vs epm1!

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by steelerdan69, Sep 12, 2011.

1. steelerdan69

steelerdan69 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 23, 2011
    What does $200 more get me? Epl3 vs epm1! So the mini is $500 and pl3 $699. I was looking at the specs and it seem they have the same things. I'm I missing something besides the tilt screen? Will it be a bother with the mini with less buttons?I'm just a beginner and mostly want a camera cuz of the lenses. Really digging that oly 45 mm f1.8 and I'm getting married in two weeks and want something better. I had a nex3 a few weeks ago sold that to get something smaller and also cuz of the oly 45 mm coming up. I was set on the red epl3 but saw this mini epm1 and at $500 and can squeezed in the 45 mm cuz on a budget. So any advice is welcome! thanks

2. RT_Panther

RT_Panther Mu-43 Legend

May 4, 2011
    Texas
    E-PL2 is the best bang for the buck if you're contemplating E-PL3 and E-PM1...:smile:

3. krugorg

krugorg Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jul 18, 2011
    Minnesota USA
    On the E-PL3, you get a tilt screen (which adds slightly to bulk, but comes in handy) and more manual controls. Check out some of the threads here on the E-PM1... I think it would be a great, small camera, if you are okay with the small and limited manual controls. I would lean towards picking up the E-PM1 as my first m4/3 camera if you were really concerned with size and want the fastest focus speed. Otherwise, as Panther suggested, there is some great pricing on the E-PL2 currently.

4. steelerdan69

Aug 23, 2011
    I do want "the new kid town" camera
    for sure! I was set on the pl3 but if the only thing besides the tilt screen and extra buttons for $200 I could get an extra lens. This camera will be used for a wedding and then for Just casual shooting, bdays, vacation and concerts.

5. Grinch

Grinch Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 9, 2011
    Canada