1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

what do we need/want?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by Chuck Pike, Nov 28, 2012.

1. Chuck Pike

Chuck Pike Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 3, 2010
    Charlotte, NC.
    There is a difference between what we need, and want. Years ago, I shot for a weekly newspaper and covered the local high schools sports. I shot along next to the major local papers photographers. They often gave me pointers to improve my work. They had the latest equipment with large pro flash units. I had good camera and lens, but only a Sun pack flash. Their flash kept up with their motor drive, while I could only take one shot of the action. I never could afford what their paper furnished these shooters. So that was a want and not a need, as I still filled up two inside pages most weeks shooting sports with what I had.

Because people saw my work in the paper, I started shooting weddings. I had two of everything. All Nikon equipment, including two bodies, two flash units, external battery packs, and 5 Nikon lens. This wasn't because of want, but was because I needed the back up that this gave me. Did I ever need that back up camera? Yes, on more than one occasion I needed to reach for the second camera.