1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

what can replace my E-PL1? a very broad question...

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by mesmerized, Jun 27, 2013.

1. mesmerized

mesmerized Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 18, 2012
    Dear All,

I'm not a serious photographer, I'm just an amateur who likes to grab the camera from time to time and take 150pics just to choose one afterwards. I've got my E-PL1 with two lenses and this set is going to be sold most probably.

To be honest, since I bought my E-PL1 I haven't really followed the market development and I'm... totally lost now. I really don't know what to choose from a large variety of cameras. Nor do I have enough time to read carefully about every single camera that has appeared on the market since I bought the E-PL1.

Therefore, I'm asking for your advice. I've always been fond of mirrorless cameras and I've always liked Olympus best (for some wierd reason) Yet, I've noticed that there are lots of interesting cams on the market right now...

What do you think I should invest in? Should I go for another m4/3 cam or a DSLR or perhaps something like Sony NEX?

I know my question is way too broad but... Here are some cams that have attracted me in one way or another. Which one would you recommend? I love taking pics of people, ancient Chinese buildings and... yeah, landscapes.

Olly OM-D E-M5 (it's priced reasonably... with 12-50mm kit lens)
    Fujifilm X-M1 (I don't know if it's out yet or not)
    Pentax K5 IIs
    Fujifilm X20 (no possibility of changing the lens... :/)
    Fujifilm X-E1
    Sony NEX7
    Samsung NX series (APS-C sensor)

I know I'm asking for a lot here but... I'd be much obliged if you could drop a line or two in this thread.

Thanks

2. RT_Panther

RT_Panther Mu-43 Legend

May 4, 2011
    Texas
    Based on this I'd say the cheap Lumix GX1 or the Olympus E-PM2 :smile:

3. monk3y

monk3y Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 14, 2013