What accessories to have with a GX7

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by Trance Omega, Jan 23, 2014.

1. Trance Omega

Trance Omega New to Mu-43

Jan 15, 2014
    Hong Kong
    My wife got me a GX7 for Xmas and with it came the 20mm lens and also got an additional Olympus 75-300mm zoom lens as well as a spare battery.
    I know everyone's is different for different reasons but what would be the best other accessories to get?
    I am new to DSLR so please go easy on me. :smile:
  2. biomed

biomed Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 22, 2013
    Seattle area
    • Like Like x 1
  3. pdk42

pdk42 One of the "Eh?" team

Jan 11, 2013
    Leamington Spa, UK
    For me, it would be a nice wide angle lens! Unless you do sports or wildlife (and in good light at that), I'd dump the 75-300 and use the funds to go wide.
  4. hazwing

hazwing Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 25, 2012
    Lens hood for the 75-300?
    A good tripod if you want to do long exposures.
    A flash unit can be useful in lower light environments or portaits
    More lenses
    Polarisers, ND filters, Graduate ND filters for the afore mentioned lenses

Really the list can be endless.... What do you want to shoot with your camera?
  5. Trance Omega

Trance Omega New to Mu-43

Jan 15, 2014
    Hong Kong
    I got the zoom as there is a surfers beach nearby I got to. Also I do hikes in the country parks here so I do nature and a bit of astro too. Already have a tripod. Looking at a wide angle but which one?
  6. val

val Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 19, 2013
    well there is the 7-14mm, 12-32mm and 12-35mm

I personally have the 12-35mm and I love it although it is a bit chunky (f2.8 constant what do you expect!)
  7. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Initially I'd recommend a wide-standard zoom such as the P12-35. As for even wider, the O9-18 is a cheaper wide zoom and it takes filters. There's also a great Samyang fisheye which is extremely sharp even when defished in software.