What about LED arrays for constant light?

Discussion in 'Filmmaking' started by roverT, Jan 16, 2012.

1. roverT

roverT Mu-43 Regular

Nov 27, 2011
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    I am wondering if there are any decent LED lights that can be connected to the hotshoe of my GF2 to give constant light for videoing people in low lit atmospheres? I know most LED has high temperature so it would be a huge contrast to regular lighting in most venues. I'm very new to this part of video photography so any advice would be great!! Thanks!

2. SZRimaging

SZRimaging Mu-43 Regular

Nov 16, 2011
    There are a few out there, and they aren't all that expensive.

As for temperature, you can gel them to match, so not really a concern.

What is a concern, is the color response from LED. I can't remember which, but they are actually lacking in one section of the spectrum (think it's Cyan). So there will always be a kind of tint/look to them that you don't get in other types of lighting. Some of the more expensive (i.e. Litepanels) do a better job at eliminating it, but it still isn't as good as tungsten or other sources. Just my 2 cents on the matter.

3. gsciorio

gsciorio Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 29, 2011
    Miami, FL
    I have 8 LED lights in my kit that I use with my work. For small on camera LEDs I use the Z96. Its powered by AA batteries or a sony pack. They come with a crummy hot shoe adapter thats made out of plastic but the lights are 100% pro. They are even repackaged and sold by other companies for over $400 each but you can find them on ebay for $89 each.

The cool thing is that you can combine the Z96 lights into larger panels.

Check out cheesycam.com for up to date coverage of LED and DIY lights.

4. roverT

roverT Mu-43 Regular

Nov 27, 2011
    Vancouver, BC, Canada