1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Whale watching cruise

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by gingergirl, Aug 27, 2014.

1. gingergirl

gingergirl Mu-43 Regular

Apr 15, 2014
    This weekend I am going on a whale watching cruise. This is my first time and I am beyond excited! Of course I want to bring along my E-M1 and take many many photos, but I'm looking for suggestions on which lens to use and any tips on settings or technique would also be appreciated.

Forecast is sun with cloudy periods.

I have the Panasonic 35-100 f/2.8. I love this lens. It'll give me the required shutter speed but will it have enough reach?

I also have the Olympus 75-300mm f/4.8-6.7 II. Slower lens, not as sharp as the Pany but has more reach. If it's a cloudy day, I don't even think I will consider this lens as it really needs light to perform well.

If it's a bright day and I can get the shutter speeds that I want, should I use a polarizer?

I expect to see the whales at different distances and at times they do get close to the boat. Very much hoping for the holy grail breach shot but I'll take anything! lol

2. b_rubenstein

b_rubenstein Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 20, 2012
    Melbourne, FL
    I did a whale watching cruise a couple of years ago. I mostly used my Nikon D7000 and 70-300 lens for the reach. I had an E-M5 and 40-150, and it wasn't long enough. The 75-300 is the lens to take. The only thing a polarizer will do is cut down the amount of light by a couple of stops: leave it home.

3. gingergirl

gingergirl Mu-43 Regular

Apr 15, 2014
    Thanks to both of you for the tips.

I'll start with the 75-300 and keep the other lens (and polarizer) in my bag. Forecast is still sunny for Saturday and they've been seeing quite a few whales around recently. I'm just thrilled to be going and if I get some keeper photos, it's a bonus. There are some nice lighthouses and hiking trails on the island as well so I'll have some additional photo ops.