1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Welcome to the noob parade

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Czar Alexander, Sep 25, 2013.

1. Czar Alexander

Czar Alexander New to Mu-43

Sep 22, 2013
    Hey all, I am just getting into photography (just got a Panasonic G5) and I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for getting the hang of things. I'd appreciate any advice you have or if you could direct me to some helpful beginners guides. I'm sure someone has asked this before, so feel free to direct me to another thread.

2. Hagane

Hagane Mu-43 Regular

May 31, 2013
    Limburg, Netherlands
    There is a video on how to set-up the G5, I think I've seen it on one of the mirrorless sites from Will Crockett.
    For the start I would set the G5 into A or P mode, use a single focus point, exposure compensation on the little lever behind the shutter and start shooting. Photography is lots of practice and gear doesn't matter as much as some people think.
    After shooting for a weekend come back here, post some photos and ask for further advice...
    Have fun...

3. Czar Alexander

Sep 22, 2013
    Thanks!

I'll definitely look into that setup video, I think I may have seen it in passing too but it slipped my mind. Next time I'm out with the camera I'll try what you suggested for the shooting mode and focus point. I really appreciate the help, thanks.

4. swampduck

swampduck Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 29, 2013
    Taneytown , MD
    Dan
    I use the center focus point. Also, be careful setting the exposure comp on the little lever...it moves if you even think about it. Also, with the G5, as others have suggested here, jpg's arent' that great SOOC. So I would suggest reading the manual on this forum for settings for jpg. Otherwise shoot RAW, and edit in almost any photo editing program, or if unavailable, the software that came with your camera.