Weird Problem With E-M5

grinny

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
13
Hello everyone,

I just purchased my OMD E-M5 camera and Panasonic 20mm lens, but I have problem as you can see at photos below.

When I shoot JPEG (and RAW too I guess, I'm not sure) photos look like the first photo, red and yellow pixels everywhere.

But when I import RAW (ORF) file to Lightroom, photo looks normal as 2. photo below.

What might be the problem? I can't see these pixels in liveview, but they are there when I shoot filming too.

http://imgur.com/4RgZWjZ
http://imgur.com/IgAv117
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
1,410
Location
Baltimore, MD
Your RAW will always look different from your JPEG.

I'm guessing those are jpeg artifacts, you can probably futz with your settings and perhaps roll back on in-camera sharpening/compression to see if they go away. Personally, I only shoot RAW and export jpegs after tweaking. I used to shoot RAW+JPEG but found I never used the OOC jpeg, so figured I'd save storage space a bit by only shooting RAW.
 

GFFPhoto

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
1,793
Weird for sure. That shouldn't happen. The first thing I would do is switch to vivid, or some other JPEG mode (or better yet, one of the scene/art modes), fire a few shots, then switch back. That might reset something in the JPEG processing settings. Its worth a try...
 

Growltiger

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
1,899
Location
UK
There is nothing wrong with the camera, the problem is your settings. You have over saturated the picture. Perhaps a vivid setting of some sort?

The reason it is OK in Lightroom is that Lightroom is ignoring the picture controls you have set in the camera. Reset your controls to normal and the problem will go away.
 

grinny

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
13
Your RAW will always look different from your JPEG.

I'm guessing those are jpeg artifacts, you can probably futz with your settings and perhaps roll back on in-camera sharpening/compression to see if they go away. Personally, I only shoot RAW and export jpegs after tweaking. I used to shoot RAW+JPEG but found I never used the OOC jpeg, so figured I'd save storage space a bit by only shooting RAW.
Even when I just shoot RAW, I can see these pixels on the camera preview after I shoot a photo. And then I import the RAW to LR all these red and green pixels go away it becomes into a normal photo.

I have the same problem while shooting video too actually, but they don't go away after importing to LR. I guess it might be a compression issue of the camera:(
 

grinny

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
13
Weird for sure. That shouldn't happen. The first thing I would do is switch to vivid, or some other JPEG mode (or better yet, one of the scene/art modes), fire a few shots, then switch back. That might reset something in the JPEG processing settings. Its worth a try...
Hmm, I did try that but no use, it gives me same results in different modes too. Only in BW modes it goes away, obviously.
 

grinny

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
13
There is nothing wrong with the camera, the problem is your settings. You have over saturated the picture. Perhaps a vivid setting of some sort?

The reason it is OK in Lightroom is that Lightroom is ignoring the picture controls you have set in the camera. Reset your controls to normal and the problem will go away.
I resetted every setting, and I'm shooting in Normal mode.
 

fortwodriver

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Nov 15, 2013
Messages
993
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Real Name
Frank
Have you tried letting the camera go to sleep, then holding down the shutter button to immediately focus and fire off a shot from sleep? If you do this, does the jpeg still look like that?


Are you using a cheap SD card? Years ago I remember a particular cheap SD card in one of my cameras did this.

If the camera turns on the SD card to write while it "bakes" the jpeg then the SD card could be injecting electrical noise. In RAW mode, the file is written directly to the card after capture, so there's no interference during capture. The card being powered up for writing could be interfering with the jpeg engine.

Try another card.
 

dhazeghi

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
4,368
Location
San Jose, CA
Real Name
Dara
Even when I just shoot RAW, I can see these pixels on the camera preview after I shoot a photo. And then I import the RAW to LR all these red and green pixels go away it becomes into a normal photo.
Sounds like a JPEG setting problem then. Lightroom ignores your JPEG settings, so importing the ORF there works fine.

I have the same problem while shooting video too actually, but they don't go away after importing to LR. I guess it might be a compression issue of the camera:(
It looks almost like CA correction gone bad, except the E-M5 doesn't have CA correction. See what happens if you open the same RAW file in Olympus Viewer though - unlike Lightroom it uses the JPEG settings.

Can you post an ORF on dropbox? It'd probably be easier to diagnose based an actual file.

Are you using a cheap SD card? Years ago I remember a particular cheap SD card in one of my cameras did this.
An interesting idea, but why would only the JPEG be affected?
 

grinny

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
13
Have you tried letting the camera go to sleep, then holding down the shutter button to immediately focus and fire off a shot from sleep? If you do this, does the jpeg still look like that?


Are you using a cheap SD card? Years ago I remember a particular cheap SD card in one of my cameras did this.

If the camera turns on the SD card to write while it "bakes" the jpeg then the SD card could be injecting electrical noise. In RAW mode, the file is written directly to the card after capture, so there's no interference during capture. The card being powered up for writing could be interfering with the jpeg engine.

Try another card.
Yes actually SD Card came to my mind too, I bought a not too serious Lexar 200x 16 GB Class 10 card. Unfortunately I don't have other card but when I try shooting without a card, 1 second preview of camera shows same problem. But I can only guess, because I can't zoom in and look for red pixels when camera doesn't have a card in it.

I'm giving the latest photo I took with the camera in RAW and Camera JPEG below,
 

fortwodriver

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Nov 15, 2013
Messages
993
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Real Name
Frank
An interesting idea, but why would only the JPEG be affected?
I had a camera that did this ... Basically the JPEG engine first sets the SD card up to be written to. Whatever that entailed caused electrical noise to run all the way through the camera and it was enough to bungle very fine processing of the JPEG because the noise is present after de-bayering - creating blobs of colour like that.

When writing RAW there is no processing, it's only sending the stream of 0s and 1s, since there's usually error coding embedded in the raw data the electrical noise doesn't affect the RAW file.

Switching the card out to a Lexar card actually fixed the problem and that bad SD card was sent to the trash bin. The bad card was a cheap Kingston.
 

grinny

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
13
Put the original ORF and JPEG on my previous post, thanks for help:)

Edit: Oops sorry fixed the links.
 

grinny

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
13
I had a camera that did this ... Basically the JPEG engine first sets the SD card up to be written to. Whatever that entailed caused electrical noise to run all the way through the camera and it was enough to bungle very fine processing of the JPEG because the noise is present after de-bayering - creating blobs of colour like that.

When writing RAW there is no processing, it's only sending the stream of 0s and 1s, since there's usually error coding embedded in the raw data the electrical noise doesn't affect the RAW file.

Switching the card out to a Lexar card actually fixed the problem and that bad SD card was sent to the trash bin. The bad card was a cheap Kingston.
I did the sleep/shooting too but no use, same problem occurs.
 

grinny

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
13
Sounds like a JPEG setting problem then. Lightroom ignores your JPEG settings, so importing the ORF there works fine.



It looks almost like CA correction gone bad, except the E-M5 doesn't have CA correction. See what happens if you open the same RAW file in Olympus Viewer though - unlike Lightroom it uses the JPEG settings.

Can you post an ORF on dropbox? It'd probably be easier to diagnose based an actual file.



An interesting idea, but why would only the JPEG be affected?
I tried to open the RAW in Olympus Viewer, and yes even RAW shows the same problem. When I open the RAW in Lightroom, it shows the problem for 2 seconds and then it corrects itself, becomes a normal photo.

You can find the correct links for RAW and JPEG:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/j60aoh3h3us4x0n/P4260046.ORF
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zj6idnge0rx3qd2/P4260046.JPG
 

fredlong

Just this guy...
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,753
Location
Massachusetts USA
Real Name
Fred
When you shoot raw the preview you see is made from the current JPEG settings. When Lightroom opens the raw file you see the embedded JPEG until the file is processed.

It sounds like the problem is either the JPEG settings or the JPEG processing. If it's the processing it could be corrupted software or defective hardware. I don't know how to fix either. If there's a way to rewrite the firmware it might fix the problem.

Fred
 

GFFPhoto

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
1,793
Update the camera software to the current version. If that doesn't fix it, take it back
 

grinny

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
13
When you shoot raw the preview you see is made from the current JPEG settings. When Lightroom opens the raw file you see the embedded JPEG until the file is processed.

It sounds like the problem is either the JPEG settings or the JPEG processing. If it's the processing it could be corrupted software or defective hardware. I don't know how to fix either. If there's a way to rewrite the firmware it might fix the problem.

Fred
Yea, I updated the firmware before I got the lens so I don't know if it acted like that in Fw. 1.20. But Ex-owner said he didn't have any problems. Is there a way to revert firmware update?
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom