Weird LightRoom 3 Help

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Empireme, Dec 15, 2011.

1. Empireme

Empireme Mu-43 Regular

Aug 25, 2011
    LA, CA
    I've studied LightRoom3 for a few weeks now and I'm really confident with it. (I'm still learning the creative side, but now I know which buttons do what...)

But I must have made a few changes perhaps by accidentally hitting a few keystrokes with my command or control button.

And this just started happening...

When I raise my noise reduction (luminance) Lightroom 3 does not show me a preview of the changes. However, when I change the picture size from FIT to 1:1 ratio, THEN it shows me the effects of my adjustments to the luminance bar.

And when I return back to the FIT window screen (as this is the way I normally view my pictures), it returns the picture back to "pre-luminance" adjustment. Thankfully, when I export my pictures, it shows the adjustment.

How do I fix this? I've been looking at it all morning. :confused:
  2. cameronp

cameronp Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 10, 2011
    Kent, UK
    I'm fairly certain that Lightroom only applies sharpening and noise reduction when you've zoomed in to at least 50%. All of the "live previews" of the data that you see when you twiddle the sliders are only being calculated on the reduced-resolution version of the image that you see on the screen, and sharpening and NR are scale-dependent - i.e. the results would look very different if you applied them to a shrunk version rather than the original image.
  3. John M Flores

John M Flores Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 7, 2011
    Somerville, NJ