Weather Sealed Primes?

Discussion in 'Micro 4/3 News and Rumors' started by bbarnett51, Jun 1, 2016.

1. bbarnett51

bbarnett51 Mu-43 Regular

Jan 23, 2015
    Strong rumor that there is a 25mm PRO prime ready to be released this year. I'm thinking faster and HOPEFULLY weather sealed. I love the Oly primes but as a wildlife/landscape photographer I need water sealed lenses.
    If Olympus starts cranking out Pro primes, I'm going that route!!!!! Fingers crossed
  2. Turbofrog

Turbofrog Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 21, 2014
    Yes, a weather-sealed fast prime is the biggest oversight in the M4/3 lens line-up, aside from a compact ultrawide prime like a 10mm/f2.8.

I wish that instead of being a big, expensive PRO lens it could just be a simple cheap-and-cheerful option with a more moderate f1.8 or f2 aperture, but we get what we get. The new 35/f2 WR and its pricetag is one the greatest strengths of the Fuji line-up.
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2016
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. dornblaser

dornblaser Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 13, 2012
    David Dornblaser
    I would love to have Olympus introduce PRO 17mm. An aperture ring would be nice as well.
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Vivalo

Vivalo Olympus Loser

Nov 16, 2010
    There's three already, Oly 8mm FE, 60mm 2.8 and 300mm f4. But I think it is strange that Panny and Oly has ignored wr primes. It shouldn't be that hard to make, since most of them have fixed front element and only moving part externally is the manual focus ring.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  5. Phocal

Phocal Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jan 3, 2014
    You forgot the best weather sealed prime the 4/3 ZD 150mm ƒ2.0 :yahoo: But I guess it is really only a viable option if you shoot an EM1 :jedi:
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Phocal

Jan 3, 2014
    The upcoming 25mm and a 17mm would be perfect along with a weather sealed version of the 75mm.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  7. dornblaser

dornblaser Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 13, 2012
    David Dornblaser