1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Wayne Gretzky...The Great Photographer?

Discussion in 'The Watering Hole' started by Fmrvette, Sep 1, 2014.

1. Fmrvette

Fmrvette This Space For Rent

May 26, 2012
    Detroit, Michigan
    Jim
    I recently came across a quote from the all star ice hockey player Wayne Gretzky talking about shots on goal.

It applies to photography as well, I think.

"You miss 100% of the shots you don't take." —Wayne Gretzky

(As a photographer I make a pretty good hockey player :biggrin:)

Regards,

Jim

• Like Like x 3
  2. fortwodriver

fortwodriver Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 15, 2013
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Frank
    It's true!
    You have to get out there and get into scenes. Get to a scene and look around for colour, light, what people are doing and snap away. Most great photos happen because the photographer was "there" and something cool happened. Our cameras are automated enough to take a lot of the hesitancy out of photography.

Sure, save some arm-chair time for editing, reading, and discussing, but make as much time as possible for getting into places and events you like with the gear you have.

• Like Like x 2
  3. John M Flores

John M Flores Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 7, 2011
    Somerville, NJ
    He shoots….HE SCORES!!!!!

• Like Like x 2
  4. coffeecat

coffeecat Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 4, 2012
    SW England
    Rob
    Great quote Jim, - love it!

Rob

• Like Like x 1
  5. OzRay

OzRay Mu-43 Legend

Jan 29, 2010
    South Gippsland, Australia
    Ray, not Oz
    And you lose 100% of the games you don't win.:)

• Like Like x 2
  6. Fmrvette

May 26, 2012
    Detroit, Michigan
    Jim
    Hi Ray!

Not including ties, of course :biggrin:.