1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Wanting to do video- what next?

Discussion in 'Video Post-Production' started by Ranger Rick, May 12, 2012.

1. Ranger Rick

Ranger Rick Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 11, 2009
    Tempe, AZ
    Rick
    I'd appreciate some advice from those who know the subject, as I've explored online and come to a point where I don't know what direction(s) I should consider going.

I've got a Mac, 10.7, and iMovie. I'd like to start shooting video with my GH2. Other than very casual short compact camera videos, I have no experience with video or with iMovie or other options. I don't think I want or need heavy duty FCP or Premier Pro, and doubt I would want to spend the time to master them- Photoshop CS6 is proving enough :).

Olympus EPL-1 video, and (at least) Panasonic AVCHD video from my GH2 seems to need to be converted (as far as I can determine) to use iMovie, and I have 2 demo converters, each running about $37 for the full version (ClipWrap and iSkysoft). I have a trial of Premier Elements, and that doesn't seem to need an external converter. I guess Premier Elements has one of those converters built-in, unlike iMovie.

I don't expect to be doing anything commercial, just for family and friends: web/dvd/large screen HD television at home.

I gather i don't want mp4 for the above, as it seems to be just small Quicktime. With the GH2, will I want to shoot in AVCHD? If so, would I be better off learning Premier Elements for the "long term" (seems to be more robust/capable) and not buying a separate converter? Or are ClipWrap and/or iSkysoft good quality, and I should go that route and then into iMovie? I have no desire to spend the extra $50 or so unless doing so and getting Premier Elements is going to be the superior long term option.

Your suggestions would be appreciated- if iMovie works well, that would be great, but I don't want to learn iMovie and quickly discover it is too limited.

Thanks,

Rick

Panasonic GH2