Want to learn about RAW and processing RAW

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by snaimpally, Jan 31, 2013.

1. snaimpally

snaimpally Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 31, 2012
    I shot film for a long time (OM-1, XD-11). For the last 10 years, I've been using P&S digital cameras - JPEG only (I am not a professional photographer). I wanted to shoot RAW (more processing options, better quality, etc.) so I recently bought a Panny G3. I have Paint Shop Pro and have used it for very basic jpeg processing (cropping, saturation, color balance, etc.). I recently picked up Lightroom.

I really don't know where to begin with RAW. For example, when I open a RAW file in PSP, it asks me to makes some adjustments etc. before it will display the picture. I have no idea what to do. Can someone point me to a good way (website, youtube video, training course, book, etc.) to learn more about RAW? Thanks.
  2. jamespetts

jamespetts Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 21, 2011
    London, England
    Start with using Lightroom instead of PSP for your main RAW editing - the workflow is a great deal easier (you don't have to make any adjustments before you can see an image). Have a look on Youtube for some Lightroom tutorials.
  3. Warren T.

Warren T. Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 10, 2010
    San Francisco
    Lightroom has a built-in RAW processor, so you'll be able to see your images as you are importing them into the Lightroom database. LR will let you do your complete end-to-end digital photography workflow, all in LR.

My JPEG workflow and RAW workflow are the same once the files are imported into LR.

Have you loaded LR yet? Give it a try, and be patient because the learning curve may be a bit steep at first, but once you get the hang of it, you will find that it flows well with what a photographer needs to do, from organizing, to editing, to output as a file or print.

4. flash

flash Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 29, 2010
    1 hour from Sydney Australia.