Vivitar Series 1 FD 70-210; beauty.

Mosca

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
103
These are OOC jpgs, vivid picture style, daylight wb. Handheld, 1/40 sec; gotta love that IS. It seems that the f-stops aren't working with this adapter, the dof is pretty dang thin for f/22.

One at 70mm, one at 210mm.
 

Attachments

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
I have an RJ Chinese adapter M43 to FD - Getting the f stops to work can sometimes be a little tricky - you have to get the "lever" and the small arm that pushes it it exactly the "right" place - keep trying until you can get the aperture ring to open fully at the widest f stop close down to f22 - it does (should) work
 

Mosca

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
103
Thanks, Bill; any tips on how to do that? Turn this, push that, etc? The piece didn't come with any instructions.
 

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
Thanks, Bill; any tips on how to do that? Turn this, push that, etc? The piece didn't come with any instructions.
I just found (find) that I have to "fiddle" with it to get it to work properly - I am away for a few days - but when I get back I'll take an image of the adapter fitted onto the FD lens to show where the lever should be - just mess around with the position of small tab and lever - it is a good fit once it's on - but it seems not to fit when you first try - if you get my meaning

When I first got the adapter - and fitted it - I got no f stops - it took me a while to figure it out - if I am making myself clear

It is strange as all my other Chinese adapters, Konica, Nikon, Leica etc., fit with no problems - but the Canon FD mount seems to be a little more complicated in the way that it works

Good luck
 

photoSmart42

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
628
Location
San Diego, CA
Here's some I took the other day with my Vivitar Series 1 70-210/3.5 lens. I'm very happy with it so far - nice bokeh, usable range, decent macro functionality.

Panasonic GH1 + Vivitar Series 1 70-210/3.5 @ 210mm; f/11; 1/320s @ ISO 400
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


Panasonic GH1 + Vivitar Series 1 70-210/3.5 @ ~180mm; f/5.6; 1/160s @ ISO 400
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


Panasonic GH1 + Vivitar Series 1 70-210/3.5 @ 210mm MACRO; f/5.6; 1/125s @ ISO 100
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

Mosca

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
103
Thanks, Bill!

That's what I'm talking about, PhotoSmart42; there is real promise there. That 70-210 is one of my favorite lenses of all time.
 

photoSmart42

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
628
Location
San Diego, CA
Thank you! You can actually see the tiny flies/gnats flying around the lion's back in the top photo, which is a testament to this lens' resolving power combined with the GH1 sensor.
 

cosinaphile

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
1,123
Location
new york city
i own the 70 - 210 f 2.8 -4 vivitar series 1 purchased for my nikon 8008s its an af lens but
thankfully has an aperture ring , it does 1:2.5 macro at the long end , and its quite the optic for its time

on the gf-1 and ep1 its giving 420mm equiv with decent macro at f4 , amazing for its size, and of course its full frame
a lens with the same ability for a sensor needing 1\4 the image circle?

im still waiting for real lenses at sane prices for micro 4\3 not slow 8mm for 1100 dollars us ..... fishy not fisheye
 

Mosca

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
103
I just found (find) that I have to "fiddle" with it to get it to work properly - I am away for a few days - but when I get back I'll take an image of the adapter fitted onto the FD lens to show where the lever should be - just mess around with the position of small tab and lever - it is a good fit once it's on - but it seems not to fit when you first try - if you get my meaning

When I first got the adapter - and fitted it - I got no f stops - it took me a while to figure it out - if I am making myself clear

It is strange as all my other Chinese adapters, Konica, Nikon, Leica etc., fit with no problems - but the Canon FD mount seems to be a little more complicated in the way that it works

Good luck
Thanks for the tips, Bill; I figured it out. You have to put the adapter on a little bit ahead of directly matched up, then turn it counter a little so the pin catches the arm, then lock it onto the lens. Got it!
 

Lauzers

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
62
Noob questions

Sorry to bring up an old thread, my adaptor for my Vivitar 70-210 Macro Zoom.

I notice at the shortest end of the focus, it's got 1:4x macro.

I'm new to photography and lenses, could anyone help me understand this lens? I've seen sample of it being used as a telephoto, but how do i achieve macro?

Any response will be great, thank you in advance.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
7,397
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Real Name
Nic
It is a reproduction ratio, meaning that at the lens' closest focusing distance, an object in real life will be recorded at one quarter of that size on the camera's sensor. A true macro lens will reproduce an object equal to it's real size (1:1) or bigger.

BTW, you shouldn't apply any crop factor to this ratio becuase it refers to the physical size of the projected image on the sensor.

That is the meant to be the true definition anyway. I don't know if lens manufacturers twist the meaning slightly to account for sensor/film size.
 

dvogel

New to Mu-43
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
2
i own the 70 - 210 f 2.8 -4 vivitar series 1 purchased for my nikon 8008s its an af lens but
thankfully has an aperture ring , it does 1:2.5 macro at the long end , and its quite the optic for its time
Cosinaphile,

I have the same Vivitar lens. Can you tell me what adapter you are using? I have a GH2 that I'd like to try this lens on. I'm assuming the adapter you use on your GF-1 will work on the GH2.

D
 

snkenai

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Sep 5, 2010
Messages
523
Some of the Vivitar 70-210mm lenses have the macro/close focus ring and some do not. I have one of each. My daughter has one that does. I don't prefer to use these for close-up work. Too big. Some of these lenses are great. It takes great care to get good clean images at the long end.
 

dvogel

New to Mu-43
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
2
Some of the Vivitar 70-210mm lenses have the macro/close focus ring and some do not. I have one of each.
Can you tell me what adapter you use for this lens? I have a Panasonic GH2 and one adapter I tried didn't work.

D
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom