1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Viewing percentage

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by boatman37210, Oct 13, 2012.

1. boatman37210

boatman37210 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 28, 2012
    Thailand
    At what viewing percentage do you consider your pictures acceptable?

2. OpenCS

OpenCS Mu-43 Regular

Sep 16, 2012
    Northumberland
    It depends what they're for, surely. If they're for posting on the interweb and they look reasonably sharp at about 1000 x 700 (the photoshop equivalent of about 25%) then it's all good. If they're for a 36 inch print, I put slightly more thought into it. I assume that's what you're getting at?

I'm a long way past stressing out about less than perfect quality at 100% zoom, though, thankfully :)

3. boatman37210

Jun 28, 2012
    Thailand
    Yes, that is what I'm talking about. I'm new to photography, so I started viewing at 100% to evaluate pics and ended up being disappointed most of the time. I finally figured out that for my uses I do not need sharp pics at 100%.

I now use 50% view as an evaluation point. Even that is probably more than I need. But I seem to be able to achieve a pic that looks good at that percentage pretty easily, so that is where I landed. Could probably go higher, but just don't see the need personally.

Was just wondering what other people used as an evaluation point. Does anyone have a need for pics that look sharp at 100%?

4. OpenCS

OpenCS Mu-43 Regular

Sep 16, 2012
    Northumberland
    Just if you're cropping them to hell or printing them huge. Otherwise: if it looks OK, it's OK.

5. dhazeghi

dhazeghi Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 6, 2010
    San Jose, CA
    Dara