Video newbie - AF question

Discussion in 'Filmmaking' started by zettapixel, Jun 20, 2011.

1. zettapixel

zettapixel Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 12, 2010
    NY
    First of all, sorry for stupid questions as I'm a complete newbie when it comes to video.
    I took video of my 6yo daughter's first gymnastics performances with E-P1+14-150 on monopod in C-AF mode (center focus area selected) and found AF performing quite badly when I zoomed in or out. Sometimes it took awhile to re-acquire focus. Sometimes I tried to activate AF by half-pressing shutter but, if anything, it seemed to make matters worse. The light wasn't great of course, but the lens didn't have any problems acquiring focus for still shots.
    Was something I was doing completely wrong? Any tips on what's the best way to use AF shooting video?

Thanks in advance.

2. MaxElmar

MaxElmar Mu-43 Regular

May 18, 2011
    New Jersey, USA
    You may be happier with a dedicated camcorder or one of the GH series Panasonics. I have found that the video capability on most m43 cameras is great but the AF is quite limited in its ability to track movement such as one might encounter in a gymnastics event.

3. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    :43: cameras are made to be used more like a pro video camera. It has interchangeable lenses, a large sensor, excellent low-light capabilities, and external audio. Like a pro video camera, focus was meant to be done manually, on the lens. I've never even used a pro video camera that had any kind of AF. Focus is always achieved through the ring on the lens (which by the way is so very smooth and clean with most video cameras).

Camcorders are a different world for a different purpose. They are like the point-and-shoot of the video world, which allow you to hit the record button and just start recording. They feature an AF system which no other video camera can compete with, but lack manual focus, aperture, and control.