Viable alternative for the Oly 14-42 IIR ?

DlanorSekao

Mu-43 Rookie
Im somewhat new at the M43 system and currently have the Olympus 14-42 IIR lens as my only wider zoom.
My copy is 5 years old and I always found it to be quite capable , but always wished it was a bit wider.
Currently I have a new EM-10II and it came with a decent 40-150 R kit lens that Im happy with after extensive careful testing.

Just questioning if the G Vario 12-32 is a sharper lens than my 14-42 IIR ?
Is the G Vario 12-32 a viable option to my 14-42 IIR lens ?
Will I have any issues using it on the EM-10II ?
My budget only allows for used selections under $125 so Pro lenses and higher end stuff is simply out of the question.
One of the Photography Club members has a G Vario 12-32 that came with some Kit his wife bought that has never been used at all...$90 !
Thanks for any suggestions.

Last edited:

ac12

Mu-43 All-Pro
Keep an eye out for a used Panasonic-Lumix 12-60/3.5-5.6. I've not seen them at $125, but if you shop carefully, you might find a used one near your budget.
The P-Lumix 12-60 is my travel/light GP lens on my Olympus.

DlanorSekao

Mu-43 Rookie
I will keep this in mind. Didn't even know such a lens existed until now. Thanks.
Unfortunately its out of my budget right now

mauve

Mu-43 All-Pro
The Olympus 12-50 EZ ED goes down to 12mm ; it's a bit dim at the long end (aperture is only 6.3@50) but this lens has most of the options usually found on pro lenses. It also has a macro mode. It's not the "best" lens in any sense, but it's really a jack of all trades, and you can get one for ~ 100 € (and certainly about the same in USD). It's also weather sealed etc.
M.

DlanorSekao

Mu-43 Rookie