Vaguely tolerable sports AF

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by dd-b, Dec 6, 2017.

1. dd-b

dd-b Mu-43 Rookie

Nov 13, 2017
    Minneapolis, MN
    I knew I was trading down in action AF capability when I ditched my aging Nikon D700 and kept and upgraded my Micro Four Thirds (just got the EM-1 Mk II). The question was, was it enough that I was going to regret it? (I decided I really couldn't afford to maintain two photo systems at near-pro levels).

I've been shooting for a roller derby team for 6 years now, about the only action sports photos I do. Last Saturday I shot my first bout with the EM-1 mk II. I got about the usual number of pictures good enough to keep in the slideshow for the after-party (about 300 out of 1200 shot), and I got at least two, maybe three photos that should go in the derby portfolio (if I were organized enough to really have one). So clearly it was not a disaster. I got a higher-than-usual number of "technical deletes", hopelessly out-of-focus shots. I also got frustrated fiddling with the controls and trying to figure out what it was doing.

Given that it took me lots of study and much of a year to figure out how to use the Nikon AF to make me happy, I expect to spend some time learning the Olympus system (I've had Oly for years, but haven't used C-AF much at all, so I'm basically starting that part from scratch).

Nikon has a huge advantage in tracking AF -- the viewfinder, being optical, doesn't show you what it's currently focusing on, so it's only when the final focus is far enough off to matter that it becomes apparent it didn't work :). Whereas in the EVF I can watch the focus box wander off right in the viewfinder.

I did find the Nikon manuals much clearer about what the settings meant. There were also more settings -- three kinds of tracking layered on top of the C-AF selection (Nikon D700).