1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Using the Oly OM-D E-M5 as my primary camera for work.

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Mat - MirrorLessons, Jul 4, 2013.

1. Mat - MirrorLessons

Mat - MirrorLessons Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 10, 2013
    Turin
  2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    Great article, Mat!

I am also a full-time working photographer and most people simply don't realize just how much "weight" this simple statement of yours carries to somebody who has to handle, maneuver, and transport so much equipment all day long:

3. Mat - MirrorLessons

Mar 10, 2013
    Turin
    Thanks Ned.
    Yes, it makes a big difference.

4. F/Stop

F/Stop Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 9, 2013
    West Virginia
    Brian Y.
    i enjoyed reading your article! thank you!

5. Iansky

Iansky Mu-43 All-Pro

Dec 26, 2009
    The Cotswolds, UK
    Mat,

Great article and very honest assessment.

I switched all my full frame kit in April this year and completely replaced it with an OMD kit and love it, I also have an X100 and I find the OMD can match the X100 IQ and in some circumstances match that from my old D700 so I am happy.

I now have a kit that is less than half the size/weight of my previous kit yet probably only a 15% difference in IQ so an absolute no brainer for me.

It is great to read opinions of Pros who are using Mu43 and now we have in the UK Damian McGillicudy as an Olympus Ambassador and producing stunning images solely with the OMD, it is raising awareness of the capability of the format. (link to Damian's blog below:)
    Blog — Damian McGillicuddy

We now need both Olympus & Panasonic to actively promote their products in the media, both print and TV.

6. Lindsay D

Lindsay D Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 2, 2013
    West Sussex, England
    Lindsay