1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Using full size lenses ?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by kanasgowatom, Jun 19, 2012.

1. kanasgowatom

kanasgowatom Mu-43 Regular

Nov 11, 2011
    Anyone that has read most of my posting's realize I am very new to this M 4/3 world. That being said, my main reason to move over from full size DSLR, is the compactness and light weight of these smaller systems. It just seems contradictordy, to add weight with adapters and large lenses. a what am I missing?

Thank you,
    Kanasgowa Tom

2. mattia

mattia Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 3, 2012
    The Netherlands
    That some people like playing around with old glass? Some of it because it's simply very good quality and not easy to adapt to other digital camera systems (Canon is the king of adapted glass in DSLR land, but almost anything can be mounted to a mu43 body), and EVFs with zoom make manual focusing relatively easy.

Also, there are a lot of pretty compact manual focus lenses, such as any of the rangefinder M39 or Leica M mount glass, as well as most olympus OM lenses. My Pentax 50s and Contax 50/1.4 and 35 2.8 are also pretty darn small compared to any autofocus equivalents. Heavier, but that's due to solid metal construction. I don't really see the attraction of large tele glass or slow glass on these cameras, but they play well with large aperture primes that can be had for a song.

• Like Like x 2
  3. meyerweb

meyerweb Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 5, 2011
    And quite a few people already have a large investment in legacy glass, and this is a way to take advantage of it. As one example, I have a MF macro lens. I don't shoot macro often enough to justify buying a native m43 macro lens, but a $20 adapter was an easy purchase.

• Like Like x 3
  4. Neon

Neon Mu-43 Regular

Mar 12, 2012
    North Wales,UK.