Use of Hexanon 40mm 1.8 when I have Lumix 20mm 1.7?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by ckjy, Sep 14, 2011.

1. ckjy

ckjy New to Mu-43

Sep 12, 2011
    Hello, I am very new to digital photography and have just started reading up on the basics of photography. I got a used E-PL1 with kit 14-42mm and the Panasonic Lumix 20mm 1.7.

I have a friend who offered to sell me his Konica Hexanon 40mm 1.8 lens (with an adapter). He's not local so I can't really go to try out the lens. I understand the lens is manual focus and is not a wide angle lens like the Lumix 20mm.

What would be the advantage of using the Hexanon 40mm over the Panasonic 20mm? It would appear the Panasonic 20mm is superior in every way, having a lower f-number of 1.7 vs 1.8, supports auto-focus, and already one of the sharpest lens available. Is this lens in demand because of the value for its price, or is it better than the Lumix 20mm for certain shots?

Does the same logic apply to the 14-42 kit lens? I have hardly used it, having the 20mm. Is it useful in other ways apart from having 3x zoom capability?

Thanks for your help. I'm excited to fall into this fascinating (and surprisingly expensive...) world of camera lens.
  2. John Bourne

John Bourne Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 30, 2011