Upgrading to OM-D M5 II - hopefully my reasoning is sound ...

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by loribincal, Mar 13, 2018.

1. loribincal

loribincal Mu-43 Rookie

Feb 16, 2018
    Cali
    So I am pretty new to photography, and I got myself a Pen-EP3 on eBay body only, used for $100, which has given me some pretty decent pictures. Definitely got the bug now!

I'm also building up a rather large collection of original OM lenses which I am using with both the Pen and an Olympus OMG! and OM-1 as well (OMG came with a lens, and I actually like it, and I got an OM-1 for a steal on Craigslist locally recently - again He had a lens for sale, but it seemed too good to pass up an OM-1 in such great condition as well)

I did pick up a cheap pancake digital lens from amazon, but to be honest, much prefer using the older Zuiko lenses with the camera, and also adapting other lenses to work with it as well.

I'm using a metabones speedbooster ultra with the micro four-thirds. Probably my biggest investment in this whole thing (I'm pretty crafty and I am even making my own unique camera bags out of old leather and canvas bags)

I've been having an issue where I think pictures are in focus, and they look ok on the display on the back of the EP3, only to find when I get home that they were not 'quite' right and thus a picture is ruined.

I read that focus peaking will help with this kind of thing, so I feel I would benefit from an upgrade of the EP-3

I was initially thinking of getting a used Sony A7, but then I figured that I wanted to keep my investment in the speedbooster, which gives me close to what I would be getting with the full frame with my OM lenses, and also gives me a faster lens (my 50mm 1.4 is fantastic in low-light on the EP3)

Therefore I am looking very hard at the OM-D M5 II instead and staying with the micro four-thirds

I did not go for a Pen-F because I am left-eye dominant and I think the viewfinder on the left would drive me nuts!