1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Upgrading from P&S to...?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by haricot.vert, Aug 27, 2012.

1. haricot.vert

haricot.vert New to Mu-43

Aug 27, 2012
    Paris, France
    Hi everyone, total newbie here. I've been reading quite a few reviews and some of the posts here, but I'm afraid the more I read, the harder it is to pick a camera!!

I'm not purchasing this camera for myself, it'll be a birthday gift for my fiancée. She's a beginner who's only used P&S, but I know she is interested in learning more about photography. I thought I would buy her an MFT and enrol her in some classes to learn how to use it. I don't know much about DSLR or MFT cameras so I thought someone here might have some advice.

I think the most important criteria for the camera would be:

- Beginner friendly, the menu shouldn't be too complicated to navigate.
    - Ideally it would be her main camera, so it needs to be fairly good at both outdoor and indoor shots, and if low light or night shots are good too, that's a bonus. It won't be used professionally (as far as I'm aware).
    - Relatively fast: we're expecting our first child in March, so if she holds onto it, the camera could eventually be used to take photos of a potentially active bundle of joy :)
    - Video quality needs to be good, for the same reason as above.
    - It must be pocketable. I know that if the camera is too bulky or heavy she will end up leaving it at home.
    - She likes taking panoramic shots, so if the camera allows that option (e.g. stitching) it would be great, but I think she can live without it.

With these things in mind, the cameras that seem to be most attractive at the moment are:

Panasonic Lumix GF3
    Panasonic Lumix GX1 (too much?)
    Olympus E-PL2
    Olympus E-PM1

These cameras all seem to be very close in terms of specs, so how do you pick one?