Upgrading from compact superzoom and looking at dual lens kits: GF2 vs GF3 vs PL1s?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by RedLightning, Mar 10, 2012.

1. RedLightning

RedLightning New to Mu-43

Mar 10, 2012
    Hello everybody, newbie here. I've been looking to buy a m4/3 camera to upgrade from my current compact superzoom and would like to hear everybody's suggestions.

I have been using a Panasonic TZ10/ZS7 up until now which has served me well until now, but I have started to feel its limits in low light/indoors and have been itching to learn more about photography anyway, especially as I will be having a destination wedding in Guam in April. (Plus I spilled hot wine on the zoom lever on the TZ10 and it's all gummed up now in cold weather which gives me an excuse to buy a new one, hehe.). I've been looking at mirrorless cameras since I really like the portability of my compact, and m4/3 because it seems to have the largest selection of lens available.

I am looking at the cheaper dual lens kits because they seem to offer the most value and versatility given that they are not much more than the body only or single lens kits. It also feels to me that it would give me a lot of variety to learn on before I go out and buy more lenses.
    The Panasonic 14-42X kits looked attractive from a portability and usability standpoint, but the posts about the image quality issues have scared me away for now. (Given that I am a beginner moving up from a compact I probably wouldn't notice, but I wouldn't feel right paying premium price for an inferior product)

As for what I'm taking photos of, I've taken photos of mostly landscapes and people when I was using my compact. I really like the video feature on my TZ10 so video is a big plus too.

All three kits are going for slightly less than 35,000 JPY in Japan (US$425) (my budget).