1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Upgraded To 14-42 II R, Now There's A 40-150 R!

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by SCT, Sep 10, 2011.

1. SCT

SCT Mu-43 Regular

Mar 8, 2011
    Landover, MD, USA
    [​IMG]
    Thanks to mxlin, I am happy after purchasing the 14-42mm II R from him he posted up for sale a few days ago. I just got it today. I haven't taken any pictures with it yet but I did a comparison between the II R and the first 14-42mm that came with my EPL1. I am very impressed! The main reason why I decided to buy the 14-42mm II R is because I want to try taking videos with the EPL1. I have a 40-150mm MSC but I just always stand more than too far than I have to and want to (apparently).

[​IMG]
    The 14-42mm II R. Amazingly quiet. I hear the electronics inside the EPL1 more than the lense whenever it does anything. Workmanship is incredible. The first 14-42mm, sorry to say, but just feels cheap. Usually well-built things are a bit heavier than they would seem but with everything going lighter and more efficient now, keeping in mind usually cheaper things are lighter and plastic crap, the precision, the feel of the 14-42mm II R doesn't make me think it's anywhere near cheap. The focus and zoom rings are super smooth! Unlike the first 14-42mm, there's way less play in all the moving parts.

I certainly like it. I only wanted it for its video qualities but I got more. And since I have the first 14-42mm lense, before I knew what the II R had to offer, I was like maybe this lense will be on the shelf. Now that I have played around with the II R for only less than 10 minutes, the first 14-42mm is definately going to be on the shelf. Actually, it's in its box already. I don't plan on selling it, though.