Upgrade iPhoto.. what to?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by funkright, Jan 26, 2013.

1. funkright

funkright Mu-43 Rookie

Dec 15, 2012
    I've been using iphoto for years, well, since we'd moved to the mac, but now having bought a GX1 w/ 2 lenses (14-42 PZ and 45-200) I am thinking it would be nice to move to a better app.

Not quite sure what that better app would be? Aperture or Lightroom or Photoshop Elements or...?

They all need to be native to OSX/Mac.

I'd like to have more control and maybe a variety of presets that surpasses what iphoto gives, but I am definitely NOT a professional or even an intermediate in this area yet (not quite an absolute beginner, though closer to that than anywhere else).

I've been reading through the various forums and hope I have asked this question in the right area.

Thanks for your insight, in advance :2thumbs:
  2. hazwing

hazwing Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 25, 2012
    I tried iphoto when I first got my mac. I quite like the interface, but I didn't like how it would import and store my photos (I prefer to create my own file structure). I ended up getting lightroom, which I'm quite happy with. If you have a family member who is a student or teacher, you can get an educational discount.

If your happy with iphoto, aperture might suit you better.
  3. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Lightroom is excellent for so many reasons. Some also like Aperture. Photoshop elements is NOT what you are looking for. IMO, you want a library-management system built with editing (or "raw developing"). That's LR, Ap, Bibble, DXO, and some others, but the market leaders are LR and Aperture (at least market leading on the Mac). If you Google "Aperture vs. Lightroom" and look only at the more recent posts (because they've been duke-ing it out for YEARS, you want recent comparisons talking about recent functionality, not battles from 2010).