upgrade from gf1

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by my06wagon, Mar 11, 2014.

1. my06wagon

my06wagon Mu-43 Rookie

Mar 11, 2014
    New to the forums.

Im undecided on what camera body to buy or weather I need to upgrade at all. I have been using the gf1 for several years now. I still think its fine for my needs outdoors but untill I get indoors and take pictures of my kids. I always never get them in focus and auto focus seems slow because it is always hunting. I tend to use the 20mm the most.

I currently have the following lenses.
    20mm f1.7
    Oly 45mm
    25mm f1.4 which ive ordered on its way.
    14-45
    45-200.

I am stuck on the gx7 and em1. Or possibly em 5 or 10
    Im concerned about purple fringing so im leaning towards the gx7. But the em1 corrects this too does it not.i prefer the grip on the em1 inhand but find the menus abit awkward. Is it worth the extra for the em1 over the gx7. Also what is the 40 fps electronic shutter burst mode like. Is that a gimmick or useful. I also fancy the 5 axis stabilization. I have been reading that the gx7 has really good low light focus so im torn between that.

Any opinions

2. pellicle

pellicle Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 10, 2010
    Southport, OzTrailEYa
    pellicle
    Hi

I'll go out on a limb and say nothing will benefit in your stated area of interest
    to be honest I believe that for such subjects you need to have an EVF as you will want to confirm focus visually. Next thing is that the more you go for narrow DoF the more the camera operator needs precision to get the focus just right. To be honest this is IMO at least part of the reason that formats have been shrinking since 120 roll 6x9 cameras down to 4/3. Sure its also for other reasons, but a primary benefit is that at the same f number we get a DoF that's more likely to get the subject in focus (thus a happy customer)