1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Unhappy with EPL-1

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by boatman37210, Oct 31, 2012.

1. boatman37210

boatman37210 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 28, 2012
    Thailand
    I've been using the EPL-1 and the 14-42 Mk II for about 3 or 4 months and have not been happy with the pictures since day one. They're just not as sharp as I think they should be.

Bought a G2 off this forum and have been very happy with it using the 14-42 MK II. The pictures are noticeably sharper and colors richer than the EPL-1 even with the EPL-1 set at vivid.

Knowing the reputation of the EPL-1 I figure it has to be something I am doing wrong. I shoot auto on both cameras. I figure the cameras know a lot more than I do at this point in my skill level. I've tried setting the focus box to 14X and that may be helping some, but not enough.

One web site rates the G2 highly for sharpness and color which mirrors the results I'm getting. I'm just not understanding why I'm not getting better results out of the EPL-1.

Would much welcome any input on what I am doing wrong or what I should be doing.

Thanks.

2. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    Can you post samples? The EPL1 should be able to keep up with, if not exceed, the G2 in sharpness and color given those kit lenses.

It's always possible the lens could have a defect, just as much as the camera. Have you tried swapping the lenses? They will both work on each other's camera.

• Like Like x 1
  3. boatman37210

Jun 28, 2012
    Thailand
    Using the Oly 14-42 Mk II on both cameras. On the G2 it does well. On the EPL-1 I think the pics are too soft. Not the lens I don't think. Has to be a defective camera or defective user.

Here is a link to one of my pics in my gallery taken with the EPL-1:
    P8110152.JPG

4. Dave Jenkins

Dave Jenkins Mu-43 Veteran

Sounds to me as if your camera may be defective.

• Like Like x 1
  5. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer