Underwater photography: Tough Tg-Tracker vs O-MD

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Klorenzo, Jul 19, 2016.

1. Klorenzo

Klorenzo Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 10, 2014
    I may be going to do scuba diving in a few weeks and I'm considering the idea to try underwater photography. I'm going to stay for about one month with daily divings.
    Right now I have an E-M10 but I'm considering to get an E-M1/E-M5 mk2 for the sealing anyway. The only sealed lenses I have are the 12-40 and the O60 (but this is likely to stay at home as the zoom is good enough).

So I see two options: buy an underwater case and something like the Oly fisheye and go with this option.
    The alternative is to get something like the tg-tracker (alternative suggestions with an LCD are welcome).

The O-MD option seems extremely expensive and more complex to handle (considering I have zero experience with diving).

There is a third option of course: just do not bother. Maybe underwater photography is so complex (low light, framing, etc.) to require a lot more time and experience to get something worth to keep.

What are your experiences? Any advice?
  2. nuclearboy

nuclearboy Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 28, 2011
    Ellicott City, MD
    Just for fun, I would get an Olympus TG-4 (assuming it will handle the depth you are diving too). I have used the TG-860 for snorkeling with decent results for fun memories. The TG-4 has a faster lens.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. AG_Alex2097

AG_Alex2097 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 18, 2015
    Alex S.