U.S. Rebate Deal, what to get?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by rxstuve, Mar 14, 2012.

1. rxstuve

rxstuve Mu-43 Regular

Mar 14, 2012
    So, Olympus has put together a rebate to allow us to get one of three accessories. I welcome input from you all as I am very new to the Micro 4/3 community and the OMD will be my first real digital camera other than a point and shoot.

Are there that many better lenses available outside the Micro 4/3's offering, that make using adapters that don't allow you to take advantage of features such as AF worth it? I've been under the impression that adapters are not the preferred method if they can be avoided.

I would welcome all your thoughts on what you are getting and why so that I can learn more about this genre of cameras. I was leaning towards getting the flash as i am getting the FL 600 and thought a second flash would come in handy in many scenarios. Then i started to think perhaps I am missing something important and decided to ask first! :)
  2. starlabs

starlabs Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 30, 2010
    Los Angeles
    The flash is probably the most useful accessory. It's small but (relatively) powerful for your on-the-go needs. I already have one and decided to go with another for the rebate lol.

The weather-sealed 43 adapter is nice but really only if you have or are already planning on getting 43 lenses.
  3. Qwerty

Qwerty Mu-43 Regular

Jan 15, 2012
    They all sound pretty lame, I'm going to go for the wimpy flash I guess. Wish they would have done even a partial rebate on the grip instead.
  4. Grinch

Grinch Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 9, 2011