Two weeks in Italy... Lenses

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by j-rad, May 31, 2015.

1. j-rad

j-rad Mu-43 Regular

May 20, 2015
    Spending two weeks in Italy (Rome and Amalfi coast) and want to make sure I have the right lenses without having to swap too often.

Currently have the 14-42 kit, 40-150 and Oly 25 f1.8. While I'm sure this trio would be fine for me, especially as a beginner, I've been considering the 12-40 pro to replace the kit lens, and bringing those three. I'd imagine keeping the 12-40 on most of the time in that case.

Thoughts? Would I be fine with 14mm as widest? I feel like the 12-40 would be a good long term investment and something I could grow with, but obviously having the smaller size of the kit lens would be a benefit while walking around the streets of Rome all day.
  2. Serhan

Serhan Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 7, 2011
    I have not been there, but usually I prefer wide angle lenses on European travels due to tighter streets and all the older architectural shots that I like to take. 14-42 might be enough with good light but it might be slow for low light/night time. I have Panasonic 12-35mm 2.8 and that was good enough for me in low light. Again it depends on what you want to capture from your trip. You can check Ray's travel to Amalfi coast at the sister site (I don't know how much he checks here since he doesn't shoot m43 any more):

Enjoy your trip!
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015
  3. tino84

tino84 Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 29, 2013
    take at least a 12-32, would be useful to shoot all those great old buildings and some other stuffs in small ways. Shooting Rome would mean also a 9-18 ( Colosseo and Piazza s.Pietro would not fit well on a 14mm I think :p ).
    Here in Italy it's better to have something wide, you know...
  4. bassman

bassman Mu-43 Top Veteran

Apr 22, 2013
    New Jersey
  5. Ulfric M Douglas

Ulfric M Douglas Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 6, 2010
    That is enough. You know it!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. kinlau