TT350 O and AD200 - my inital impressions

Clint

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
2,385
Location
San Diego area, CA
Real Name
Clint
The AD200 lives up to the marketing, except for being pocketable unless you have cargo pants or the like - or unless you like large lumps in your pants. I’m impressed by how well it seems to be made. It does feel heavy being a one piece unit as the weight is not spread over separate parts. Being a single piece without cords, syncs or external battery is extremely nice!

Power – Using two different light meters, ISO 200 and at full power at 10’ I was getting consistent f/20-22 readings and at 4’ f/42-45. The difference I was getting between the Fresnel head and bare bulb with a standard reflector was about a ½ - 2/3 stop less. The standard reflector is still throwing a wider pattern than the Fresnel lens.

I used it for a portrait shot today and even at 1/128 it was too powerful for a small room setup. I understand there is an update in the works that allow 1/256 power. This would be welcome on my part.

Color accuracy – it does slightly change over the course of power settings, yet nothing extreme. Outside of my initial testing, for my portrait shot today I had to adjust the Kelvin settings in Lightroom to 6100 to get pleasing skin tones, but that may not be the AD200 fault. I has some ambient light as well as a modifier I have yet to definitively check. For the price I’d call this unit excellent even if the WB was what I had in these shots.

With the Fresnel head all of my small Speedlight accessories fit. With the bare bulb all my Quantum modifiers fit. So this is a win win. However there still seems to be no low cost grids for the barebulb setup. I though Godox had offered a set of grids for their standard reflector – but cannot find any for sale.

Mounting – I have not had the issues other have, I simply use a sturdy umbrella adapter with a stud screwed into the AD200 body. Where the mounting points are is a little too far back for a good balance at the mounting point. The build quality seems substantial enough to handle this offset balance. I even tried the AD200 in my Westcott Apollo boxes and the bare bulb works great.


The TT350O

A small efficient flash and works well for a two AA batteries. It is about ½" shorter than the Olympus FL-600R and a little skinner. This flash feels good in the hand and very nice construction

When I first got it I could not get the Zoom function to work. Had to open and close the wide panel diffuser a few times. With the dial you can adjust the zoom or set it to auto to work with the camera.

TTL works well, consistent, and so does HHS synch up to about 1/2000 at 4’. Further distances or faster shutter speeds and the flash really seems lacks the power.

The exposure compensation does not make the power setting changes indicated by the amount indicated by the FEC settings – it is far less than expected. A +3 setting seemed to be closer to +1.

For bounce flash, the TT350 is challenged.

When the batteries are fully charged the recycling was really pretty good – about 2 seconds at full power but will quickly increase as battery power is lost.

To set up and use the flash as a Master or remote flash is not near as simple as others. Actually a little challenging. I did not have time to fully test the TT350 as a master with the AD200 due to learning the required settings. I quickly tried the TT350 transmitter with the AD200 HSS synch and initially it seems good – but that was a very short initial look. I’d really suggest waiting for the new transmitter vice trying to use the TT350 as the master.

Edit Note: I changed the X1T to TT350 in the sentence - I quickly tried the TT350 with HSS. Added: With the X1T it will only synch up to 1/400 at the current time.

Overall, one is getting what they pay for and in a seemingly quality unit.
 
Last edited:

ijm5012

Mu-43 Legend
Joined
Oct 2, 2013
Messages
7,963
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Real Name
Ian
Any pictures of the set-up with the AD200? Were you shooting through any type of diffuser (umbrella, softbox, etc.)?

Also, how does the triggering of the AD200 work? Is it triggered with an Olympus flash, or does it require a separate transceiver? Is it TTL, and can it be controlled through the on-camera menu? The reason I ask is, could one use the AD200 as a key light, and the FL-50r as a fill light, all triggered by an FL-600r, while maintaining the ability to adjust the power from the RC menu on the camera?
 

Holoholo55

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
3,207
Location
Honolulu, HI
Real Name
Walter
My impression is that you could trigger the AD200 from the TT350O, but not from the Olympus flashes. But, @Clint will let us know! :)

BTW, Clint, thanks for your impressions. Very helpful, and waiting to hear more!
 

Clint

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
2,385
Location
San Diego area, CA
Real Name
Clint
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #5
Any pictures of the set-up with the AD200? Were you shooting through any type of diffuser (umbrella, softbox, etc.)?

Also, how does the triggering of the AD200 work? Is it triggered with an Olympus flash, or does it require a separate transceiver? Is it TTL, and can it be controlled through the on-camera menu? The reason I ask is, could one use the AD200 as a key light, and the FL-50r as a fill light, all triggered by an FL-600r, while maintaining the ability to adjust the power from the RC menu on the camera?
Keep in mind I've only used this maybe 8 hors total over a couple of days.
  • Any pictures of the set-up with the AD200?
    No

  • Were you shooting through any type of diffuser (umbrella, softbox, etc.)?
    I tried several. My preference will be the bare bulb with umbrellas, umbrella like softboxes, or soft boxes. With the Fresnel head I used the wide angle reflector but I would appreciate a Stophen like diffuser as well if I had to use the Fresnel head enclosed in a diffuser.

  • Also, how does the triggering of the AD200 work?
    Out of couple of hours of use it has fired every time whether I used the X1T-N, TT350 O or wired syncs.

  • Is it triggered with an Olympus flash, or does it require a separate transceiver?

    It requires a Godox transmitter for wireless sync and control for remote use. I used the X1T-N and in manual only mode. The TT350 O mounted on a m4/3s camera can get you there and easy with manual settings, but TTL is not the simplest setup. Hence my suggestion to wait for the X1T-O (or maybe the X2T-O)

    It can be fired by any flash when set to one of two slave modes (S1, S2).

    Godox needs to clarify some things in such as they consider everything slave mode. I'll use term remote when there is sync connected to it whether wirelessly of physically. And slave when it is set to one of it's two slave modes that responds to the light of another flash.

  • Is it TTL, and can it be controlled through the on-camera menu?
    TTL - Not yet, or at least not as far as I have tested. The AD200 is not a flash for use on camera and is not designed to be controlled through the on-camera menu.

  • The reason I ask is, could one use the AD200 as a key light, and the FL-50r as a fill light, all triggered by an FL-600r, while maintaining the ability to adjust the power from the RC menu on the camera?
    Keep wishing - maybe one day we'll have it.
 

inkista

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jan 13, 2012
Messages
530
Location
San Diego, CA
Any idea how to check what firmware is installed?
It's point #2 in the PDF in the .rar download for the firmware update. :)
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

The G1 and G2 update software and the new firmware updates for -O/-F compatibility for the AD200 and AD600/AD600M are all on the Godox Download page.

You can also check the version of the firmware on the TT350-O by holding down the MODE button while you turn it on. Mine shipped with v1.1, even though no TT350-O updates are listed on the download page.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

leungw

Deal Hunter
Joined
May 26, 2011
Messages
411
Location
NJ
Real Name
Willy
I checked my AD200 and it's v1.8. I tried updating but the program doesn't respond. And after waiting for a while, it displays an error message.

Anyone has any luck?

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

Repp

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
1,323
Location
Seoul, South Korea
With the x1t-o coming out there should also be an x1r-o (at least there is on the adorama site) that would work as a trigger for an Oly/Pany flash... but I don't know anyone using one of the other versions of the receiver. Also anownced today was the new head that will let you use 2x ad200s for 400ws. I've been busy since getting back home so haven't had a chance to update my ad200s and test them with the tt350. FLASHPOINT EVOLV TWIN HEAD – Bracket Announced | FLASH HAVOC
 

inkista

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jan 13, 2012
Messages
530
Location
San Diego, CA
I checked my AD200 and it's v1.8. I tried updating but the program doesn't respond. And after waiting for a while, it displays an error message.

Anyone has any luck?
Did you discharge the unit before trying to upgrade it? Have you tried another cable? And yeah, you're not alone. You may want to try reading/posting in the AD200 thread on the POTN forum where there are scads of AD200 owners working their way through this stuff. The POTN board is where I first heard of Godox gear, as it was primarily a Canon board when I first got there (they've since expanded to be all-systems welcoming). Most of the experiences will be from Canon shooters but a lot of them have AD360/AD360II and AD600 experience as well. The Godox X1 system integration thread is a good place to get a sense of the overall system. Sort of crowd-sourced integration testing. :D :D

I checked the firmware - AD 200 v1.8, TT350 O v.1.1. I'll have to make some time to update the AD 200. Thanks.
You're welcome. For the non-MFT/Fuji shooters, it's not as vital, but if you wanted TTL... :)

With the x1t-o coming out there should also be an x1r-o (at least there is on the adorama site) ...
You might want to take a closer look. There isn't a pre-order button on that listing. Just an "in development" announcement. Keep in mind that the Sony users got an X1T-S in March of last year. They still haven't gotten the X1R-S or the XT32-S in the multi-interface hotshoe flavor. Remember, too, that the X1T-F/-O/-P(entax) versions were actually up on the Adorama site as ghost listings before they were taken down. I would definitely not expect to see a receiver any time soon, given that it's a great way to pressure everyone into buying Godox flashes.

Also bear in mind that the system-switch thing doesn't get mentioned in firmware updates anywhere for the X1R-C/N units that do exist, so they're going to be system-dedicated, unlike the Godox flashes. If you shoot more than one system, it may still be better to get Godox flashes than to try and retrofit your existing system flashes into the X system.

Also announced today was the new head that will let you use 2x ad200s for 400ws. I've been busy since getting back home so haven't had a chance to update my ad200s and test them with the tt350. FLASHPOINT EVOLV TWIN HEAD – Bracket Announced | FLASH HAVOC
It looks like Elv took it down; the link's now broken and 404s. Adorama also removed their listing for it, and the link just forwards to the AD200 listing. I think someone did a whoopsie. But a lot of folks have been looking forward to a double-bracket with a Bowens mount, since two AD200s would outpower an AD360 and the form factor is so much more convenient. I have a feeling it's coming, just not quiiiite ready yet. Or maybe they're working on an equivalent 400Ws "ganging" head for the AD200 bodies, the way the 1200Ws head for the AD600 works. Who knows?
 
Last edited:

leungw

Deal Hunter
Joined
May 26, 2011
Messages
411
Location
NJ
Real Name
Willy
Did you discharge the unit before trying to upgrade it? Have you tried another cable? And yeah, you're not alone. You may want to try reading/posting in the AD200 thread on the POTN forum where there are scads of AD200 owners working their way through this stuff.
Yeah, I did remove the battery and flip the on/off multiple times. Did not try another cable though. I will take a look at the POTN forum. Thank you.
 

inkista

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jan 13, 2012
Messages
530
Location
San Diego, CA
Yeah, I did remove the battery and flip the on/off multiple times. ...
Um. You're supposed to hold the ON/OFF button down for two seconds. Also on the first run through, you're supposed to get prompted to install a USB driver. Did that happen? And it may take a minute after clicking Connect before the connection happens. Did you wait that long?

From the PDF in the G2 .rar:

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

leungw

Deal Hunter
Joined
May 26, 2011
Messages
411
Location
NJ
Real Name
Willy
Um. You're supposed to hold the ON/OFF or TEST button down for two seconds. Also on the first run through, you're supposed to get prompted to install a USB driver. Did that happen? And it may take a minute after clicking Connect before the connection happens. Did you wait that long?

From the PDF in the G2 .rar:

View attachment 550433
The on/off on AD200 is a slider, so there's no holding it down. It's either in the on position or off. I suspect this is to discharge any remaining power from the unit after removing the battery.

Yes, drivers were installed the first time when I plugged in the unit.
 

inkista

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jan 13, 2012
Messages
530
Location
San Diego, CA
The on/off on AD200 is a slider, so there's no holding it down. It's either in the on position or off.
Ah. Just checked the POTN thread (page 21), where dmward says he's upgraded all four of his AD200s. He mentions that he had to try two different cables, and that you have to press the TEST button for two seconds to discharge it. As the instructions state--if there's no ON/OFF button, then press the TEST button.

Also, farther down in the thread, Figtreephoto mentions not realizing it's the little (micro) USB port below the ON/OFF switch that is the one for firmware updates. I didn't think it had two USB ports, and the pics in the manual only show the rubber cover over the 3.5 sync jack and "wireless control" ports. Is the "wireless control" port underneath the cover a full-size USB(A) connection? If so, then that's probably for plugging in an FTR16 if you want to make it backwards compatible with the old 433 MHz system Godox add-on receivers used with the AD360/AD180.

Well, that's not confusing at all! [headdesk]

I suspect this is to discharge any remaining power from the unit after removing the battery.
Yup. Interesting that they think that charge might make a difference for USB communication, but if the USB port is drawing power to make the update, that could be it.
 
Last edited:

leungw

Deal Hunter
Joined
May 26, 2011
Messages
411
Location
NJ
Real Name
Willy
Has the X1T-O page always been on Godox's website? Maybe it's finally coming.

GODOX PHOTO EQUIPMENT CO.,LTD

The list of compatible models seem short? The Oly E-M5 is not on there.
 
Last edited:

inkista

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jan 13, 2012
Messages
530
Location
San Diego, CA
That did the trick! Worked after I tried another cable. Weird.

Thank you!
You're welcome! And YAY!

Has the X1T-O page always been on Godox's website? Maybe it's finally coming.

GODOX PHOTO EQUIPMENT CO.,LTD

The list of compatible models seem short? The Oly E-M5 is not on there.
Well, my GX-7 wasn't on the TT350-O compatibility list, either, but they seem to work fine together. :) I have a feeling they've followed one of the first rules of time-limited technical writing: accuracy before completeness. Or it could just be which bodies they've got in-house to develop the gear on.
 

CyVan

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
1,303
Location
Jamaica
You're welcome! And YAY!



Well, my GX-7 wasn't on the TT350-O compatibility list, either, but they seem to work fine together. :) I have a feeling they've followed one of the first rules of time-limited technical writing: accuracy before completeness. Or it could just be which bodies they've got in-house to develop the gear on.
There were some issues with GX8 and HSS over 1/500th so maybe that's why they haven't included it yet.
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom