1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Tripod Review: CowboyStudio/Beike BK-476

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by Promit, Sep 20, 2012.

1. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    I stumbled across this tripod a few weeks ago at Amazon, and found it to be a very intriguing package. They finally started stocking it this week, and I'd like to provide on-going impressions as I spend more time with this thing. I have very little experience with tripods, but hopefully I can give some basic hands-on info about it.

First off: this is a Chinese knockoff tripod, sold as a "trans-functional travel angle [sic]" in various places. It appears to be based on a mix of Benro design elements. The standard brand name is Beike, and it comes in two codes: BK-475 (aluminum) and BK-476 (carbon fiber). I am reviewing the CF version. The pricing for the 475 is about $110, available here:
    Beike BK-475 Tripod Monopod 1550mm 10KG with Quick Release Plate Ball Head+Bag | eBay
    And the 476 is $145, available here:
    Amazon.com: CowboyStudio BK-476 Trans-Functional Travel Angle Carbon Fiber Tripod with Monopod for DSLR Camera, Nikon, Canon, Sony Olympus BK-476: Camera & Photo
    I believe this is quite new to the market, as there seems to be no information about it whatsoever. It is worth noting that by the specs listed by various eBay sellers, the CF tripod is slightly heavier than the aluminum, 1.5kg versus 1.23kg. It's not clear to me if these numbers are accurate or why the CF would be heavier. The 475 appears to use a slightly different ball head.

The basic elements of the tripod are:
    * Dual angle twist lock legs, with a 180 degree feature for maximum compactness.
    * Breakaway monopod leg.
    * Reversible center column, with spring hook for weighting.
    * Minimum height of 22.8 inches, maximum height w/o center column of 52 inches, maximum height of 60.5 inches.