Total noob

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by ryanlogic, Jun 10, 2012.

1. ryanlogic

ryanlogic Mu-43 Veteran

May 23, 2012
    Antakya, Turkey
    I've been drooling over cameras for a while now. I would really like some practical advice.

I've borrowed my friends t2i and played around with a few other 4/3 cameras... But after watching tons of reviews and doing lots of research I think mirrorless is the way to go, and it seems like micro 4/3 is the direction to invest.

I've never take a photography class, and I'm relatively ignorant to most of the things on here that people talk about. That being said, I'm not the typical consumer. I've been learning ISO, aperture, and different lenses... And I think it would really behoove me to invest in something I can grow into.

I take a lot of pictures, and many people tell me I have a good eye. I come from an art background and appreciate a good composition.

Now that I'm a full time university student, I've gotten involved in a lot of student organizations and charities and stuff and I've been taking pictures with my point and shoot... People have been asking me to photograph events and I really enjoy doing it but I am feeling get the picture.

I'm pretty much torn between three options.

My initial budget will be around $1500 in August. I'm not a rich college student, I will be saving as much as I can to get to that number by the end of summer.

1.) Do what everyone I know tells me to do, and buy a canon rebel and invest in a few lenses to play with.

2.) buy a $500-700 range m4/3 kit and a few lenses.

3.) buy a OM-D EM-5 and maybe an entry level lens.

I'm honestly leaning towards the OM-D... I like that it's weatherproofed, because I could end up shooting in the rain and around water (my current point and shoot is waterproof and has come in handy more than once for that reason.) additionally I like the build and the style. the Add on grip seems like a good option and I like the addition of an EVF.