1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Total noob question from a years long Panasonic guy.....

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by tanngrisnir3, Feb 18, 2015.

1. tanngrisnir3

tanngrisnir3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 18, 2011
    As I just found out, in part to my regret, that the standard setting for Auto-ISO in manual mode for a GH4 is 'on' (won't make that mistake again) it occurred to me that I've never bothered to find out if the various settings (noise reduction, sharpening, contrast, etc....) in-camera affect RAW files as well.

And, if they do, since I can adjust them later out of the camera in PP, is there any particular advantage to doing so in-camera?

I just stumbled upon this article, and it's got me wondering......

http://www.supertone.dk/#!GH4-Optim...oo/c24o4/8E18836A-F271-4A14-AF0D-C575B9D5F4B6

2. agentlossing

agentlossing Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jun 26, 2013
    Andrew Lossing
    I believe the in-camera tuning only affects jpegs.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Mu-43 mobile app

3. gryphon1911

gryphon1911 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 13, 2014
    Central Ohio, USA
    Andrew
    The only camera manifacturer that I am aware of that makes modifies their RAW files are Fuji. I believe everyone else leaves RAW as RAW.

The only exception I can think of is possibly the new Oly EM5 Mk2 hi res RAW might be modified in some fashion, but it is still too new to know for sure.

4. Mellow

Mellow Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 27, 2010
    Florida or Idaho
    Tom
    Just curious why you don't like Auto-ISO in manual mode . . . I seem to recall Panasonic fans lamenting its absence in earlier cameras. I hadn't even been aware that it was implemented in the GH4.

5. tanngrisnir3

tanngrisnir3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 18, 2011
    Because as a landscape/architecture shooter for 95% of my work, I live at base ISO.