1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Total noob need help deciding fastt!!!

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by greye05, Aug 14, 2012.

1. greye05

greye05 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 14, 2012
    Hello first time here, so I'm a Student and i have always love photography and now i will like to learn it. I'm a complete noob and I will commit to photography. Being a student my budget is really low ($300) and i have been reading and doing research and i would like to shoot legacy lens minolta, m39,m42 fd... i want to go all manual and maybe later get a new m4/3 lens to use for on the fly.
    My options are to get a
    e-pl1 body only for $125 and get the rest on lens adapter and accessories
    g1 cheap if is good i would spend maybe 150-180 on it
    gf2
    if you can tell witch one you think is the best bang for the buck and if you think of any other camera i will appreciated.
    THX
    and what are the best legacy lens M42 or M39

2. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    I vote for the E-PL1 and some decent glass. Most M39 is kind of expensive; FD is a solid choice.

3. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010
    I think the E-PL1 is a good choice but if you're going to use legacy glass I'd say the G1 might be a better value as it has a very good EVF built-in where it'll be an additional $175 (used) for the VF2. It also has a larger grip and a bit better ergonomics so using m43 lenses will feel more balanced.

Adapted lens wise Promit is right Canon FD is a great bang for the buck. M42 mount gives you lots of lenses to choose from a variety of makers such as Pentax Super Takumars, Pentacon and some Russian lenses like Helios, Industar and Mir.

4. greye05

greye05 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 14, 2012
    O and what about a Nex-3 will minolta lens mount right in? and lumix gf2

5. danska

danska Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 21, 2012
    Portland, OR
    Joe