Total Newbie to this format requires a little help.

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Wormwood, Aug 22, 2011.

1. Wormwood

Wormwood Mu-43 Regular

Aug 17, 2011
    Sydney, Australia
    Hello all,

I am just about to spring board into the Four Thirds world from using a Point and Shoot for the past three years. I was a EOS user before that... but....

There are a number of question I have for the collective:

Based on the following -
    I have ordered the Oly E-P3 with a twin lens kit:
    Olympus PEN 14-42mm f3.5-5.6

Olympus PEN 40-150mm f4-5.6

Am I wise getting the twin kit or just the 14 - 42? I know that it's a purely subjective questions as it comes back to what is my intentions for the camera... every day life, the odd trip but the rest more about taking that shot that is more perfect that what a P&S will do - be it landscape or architectural or even Street.

Regarding lens what is the general feeling on what I have/going to have vs. the following:

Oly 12mm f2.0
    Pan 20mm f1.7
    Oly 45mm f1.8

Is there something else I should be looking at? Needless to say that I need not buy everything now but I do like to plan. What makes the Oly 12mm so expensive vs the 45mm? Is the Pan worth it?

VF-2 or VF-3
    Are these something I should be investing in sooner rather than later?

Of course the Oly PEN is silver and it goes without saying I have ordered the leatherette black skin for it from - thanks to this site... it's all about priorities!

Thank you all very much for a wonderful forum - I have spent the past week or so reading everything (and even understanding some of it).

2. kundalini

kundalini Mu-43 Regular

Aug 20, 2011