1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Total newb needs advice

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by snapbug, Jan 1, 2012.

1. snapbug

snapbug Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 1, 2012
    Seattle
    So, I have read and read and read until my brain is likely to explode. I have read the differences between the various models Olympus makes in this class, and just can't figure out what I need. Let me explain:

I'm basically a point-and-shoot newb. I have a camera that would make most of you laugh. But it will let me shoot nearly everything on manual, so for the last six months, that's what I've been doing. I'm using auto focus, because the manual focus on my camera might as well not exist, and auto white balance, but I'm adjusting the shutter, the aperture and the ISO for every shot. And I like it! The camera has, like most point-and-shoots, a simple extending zoom lens.

I have never used a DSLR. I am completely self-taught in all of this. I'm having tons of fun, though, and running into situations where my camera simply isn't up to snuff anymore. I need a camera that will allow me to shoot in lower light, and to experiment with different lenses, depths of field, etc. But I also run a cycling blog, and I do a ton of riding and travelling, so my friends' suggestions about DSLRs never thrilled me: too much camera. Too heavy. Honestly, if I could, I'd get a vintage 35mm camera, if it could somehow shoot to digital :). I want something small and light, with interchangeable lenses, that will let me control as much as I want for each picture.

That led me to the Micro 4/3 cameras. The Olympus appeals to me visually more than the Panasonic, and I like the idea of image stabilization being built into the camera, so that I can use all sorts of lenses with it (as I understand it). But what I don't know is... which one to buy.