1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Tone control for highlight control in the PM1

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by twmangrove, Aug 1, 2012.

1. twmangrove

twmangrove Mu-43 Regular

May 8, 2011
    The Shuswap, B.C.
    Isn't the E-PM1 supposed to be Oly's most consumer-friendly M4/3 camera?
    I've got to say that as a straight point and shoot, it's – well, it's not terrible, but as everyone seems to know here, you can do much better digging into the menus (learning the jargon first helps too).
    I've had the camera since the fall and I'm still learning new things about it.
    I finally learned how to get greater control on scene and art modes (something you have to do through the camera control settings). And, most recently, I've discovered the existence, purpose of tone control (if this camera came with a paper manual I would have kicked back with it long ago).
    I only really started playing around with tone control yesterday evening after shooting photos of my boy at the playground. The sun was bright and at an angle where shadows were abundant. And as my fellow users know, these little Olys aren't the best at DR, meaning there were some pics where the highlights, particularly on skin, were blown out. This was with matrix meter, and I-Enhance at its most conservative settings (contrast down to -2, etc.).
    Afterwards, I was playing around with tone control, which I discovered quite by accident. With tone and exposure control (in-camera curves adjusting) going I found I could get some interesting expansion of DR in camera.
    So I'm going to do some more experimenting in daylight to see if I can use this to curb the highlights a little better.
    I'm wondering if anyone else has taken the time to play extensively with this feature.