1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Tokina & Tamron joins Micro 4/3

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by xdayv, Jan 27, 2012.

1. xdayv

xdayv Color Blind

Aug 26, 2011
    Tacloban City, Philippines
    Dave
  2. David

David Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 22, 2011
    Sydney
    thats good news. TO further strengthen the micro four third system.

3. timallenphoto

timallenphoto Mu-43 Veteran

May 20, 2011
    Kent, England
    Sharpest lens I've ever used was my Tamron 17-50 f2.8 on Canon. Amazing bit of glass and not expensive either.

4. usayit

usayit Mu-43 Hall of Famer

That is great news. I've had some great experiences with Tamrons; 90mm macro and an old 35-105 f/2.8 aspherical in particular. It'll be interesting to see how much either invest into R&D; micro 43 is a lot more involved than simply taking an current lens and fitting a different mount.

5. Narnian

Narnian Nobody in particular ...

Aug 6, 2010
    Midlothian, VA
    Richard Elliott
    My only concern is the vendors will do just that, take larger format lenses and just put a m43 mount on them. Hopefully the will make native m43 lenses. it will cost more but we would be able to get smaller lenses that way.

6. veereshai

veereshai Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 12, 2011
    Arlington, VA
  7. fredlong

fredlong Just this guy...

Apr 18, 2011
    Massachusetts USA
    Fred
    Sigma is designing short flange distance mirrorless camera lenses based on APS coverage and putting m4/3 mounts on them. I'd expect the others to do the same. Part of their business model is selling the same lens across different camera lines.

Fred

8. John M Flores

John M Flores Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 7, 2011
    Somerville, NJ
    I doubt M43 is a big enough market yet for them to create M43-specific lens formulas. Still, if they come out with constant F2.8 zooms in M43 mount I'm be taking a long, slow look at them.

9. RichDesmond

RichDesmond Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 18, 2011