To use or not to use UV filter

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by wolfbomb, Nov 11, 2012.

1. wolfbomb

wolfbomb Mu-43 Rookie

May 6, 2012
    Hi M4/3,

Currently, all my M4/3 lenses are protected with UV filters and I'm happy about it since I am not worried of my front glass getting some dust/dirt and smudges. After shoots, i just clean the filter instead of the front glass before i kept it on my dry cab. I'm getting some flares sometimes (very rare) but I'm OK.

Now, suddenly I met a guy not a friend who is also a M4/3 user and ask me why do i need to put filters on a lens such as that as he point to my Panasonic 14mm 2.5. I replied him because i want to protect it. And he added, you will only get a flare on that and its really not necessary to use filters on a M4/3 lense. After that I was speachless. I am new to M4/3 system and Im not really sure of what he sad.

For Panasonic 14mm 2.5 users or shall I say M4/3 users in general, I just want to know your thoughts on this. Do you really need a UV filter to protect your front glass or you can live without it and just clean it after use.
  2. dav1dz

dav1dz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 6, 2012
    It is true you will get flare unless you use expensive multi-coated filters. Sometimes, under certain situations, even with expensive UV filters you'll get flare. But you will have a permanent layer of protection on your lens should you drop them.

Easy way to test this, go out to your sidewalk at night and aim your lens at the street lights and see what you get.

Personally I just be careful when I'm swapping lenses. I rarely have accidents for a somewhat clumsy person, YMMV.
  3. usayit

usayit Mu-43 Hall of Famer

There is no wrong right answer here... You just have to smart about it. Its all personal preference.