'To Sell or Not to Sell...?' That is the Question...

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by kelly200269, Jan 27, 2013.

1. kelly200269

kelly200269 Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 25, 2013
    Leyland, Lancashire
    Martin Kelly
    Hi There,

I'm new to the forum, and wanted to ask some advice please.

I recently got into the MFT format, and now have a Lumix G2 & GX1 with various lenses (Lumix 12mm, Lumix 20mm, Lumix 25mm & Oly 45mm). I love the kit for it's weight, and find myself taking more photos because of it, in preference to my DSLR.

I also love my DSLR for the quality it can produce, but am finding myself using it a lot less now because of my MFT kit. I'm an amateur photographer who enjoys taking photos for myself, and do not do any professional work.

My question is: Do I sell my DSLR & lenses now that I use them less? My kit is a Canon EOS 5D with a collection of 'L' lenses including the 14mm, 24-70mm, 50mm, 85mm, 100mm Macro & 70-200mm.

I would especially like to hear from members who have sold their DSLR after buying their MFT kit, and for their perspectives on this decision. Any regrets, or a decision well made?

Thanks in anticipation.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
  2. ccunningham

ccunningham Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 23, 2010
    Well only you can REALLY decide. Once I got my E-M5 I was sure I would sell my DSLR gear. While I've sold some gear, I haven' been able to bring myself to sell all or even most of it. I should, since it's rarely used, but I've had most of it a long time and I just can't quite bring myself to part with it,mainly because I've sgot some photos that I've.really liked with that gear. Heck I still have my first. SLR still, because I liked it and still do.
  3. kelly200269

kelly200269 Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 25, 2013
    Leyland, Lancashire
    Martin Kelly