Tips for wedding shots

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by webmonkey8, Jul 9, 2012.

1. webmonkey8

webmonkey8 Mu-43 Regular

Jan 17, 2012

I'm still relatively new to the :43: world, so I still have a lot to learn. I have an EPM1 with the Oly 45mm and Panny 25mm lenses and I've been asked to take part in shooting some photos for a wedding.

Can anybody offer any useful tips for taking optimal photos for this kind of event with this camera and lenses? What are your settings on the camera, like, focusing area, auto-focus, etc.

I usually shoot in aperture mode with the lowest f-stop number (eg., 1.4 or 1.8), but a lot of times, the iAuto works great, too. Also, a lot of times when shooting with such a large aperture, people's faces get out of focus when they are in slight varying distances, such as group shots. That's why I use the iAuto mode. If I want to concentrate on one person's face or a couple, then I shoot in larger aperture, as it seems to be more flattering in portraiture mode.

I know this may be a bit general as to what I'm asking, but if anyone has shot wedding photography using your :43: camera, it would be great to get some tips!
  2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    If you're already in Aperture Priority and you go to a group shot where greater Depth of Field is required, then why go to iAuto instead of simply stopping down to a smaller aperture (bigger f-number) to increase your DOF? That's what Aperture Priority is for - control of aperture and the resulting DOF. By dialing in a smaller aperture you're telling the camera that you need more in focus, and the camera will calculate the rest to give you proper exposure.
  3. Jorg.S

Jorg.S Mu-43 Regular

Well you have nice gear to pull this off.
    When shooting in A mode you don't need to stay at the lowest f-stop.
    The larger the number the more depth of field you will get i.e. have more of the face in focus.