1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Tips for getting razor sharp portraits with Micro 4/3

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by dlhomesolutions, Dec 26, 2015.

1. dlhomesolutions

dlhomesolutions Mu-43 Regular

Sep 30, 2013
    Peoria, IL
    Hey everyone,

I want to get into doing some portrait shots on the high end. I see some pics like from Martin Schoeller of Nat Geo and Others who get these amazingly sharp photos of their subjects. Mine tend to be slightly blurred. I am a bit of a novice when it comes to settings etc.

I would appreciate any tips you could give me.

Here is the equipment I have:

OMD EM-5
    25mm 1.4 Pan
    45mm 1.8 Oly
    45-200mm Pan
    12-42 kit lens Oly
    Rokinon 7.5mm fisheye
    Minolta Rokkor-x 50mm 1.4 with Fotasy m43 adapter (manual focus)

Flash FL-600r
    Flash FL-LM3

2. PakkyT

PakkyT Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 20, 2015
    New England
    Tripod or no tripod? If using a tripod, are you remembering to turn OFF the image stabilization system?

Do you have a sample photo (with exif) we can see?

3. 50orsohours

50orsohours Mu-43 All-Pro

Oct 13, 2013
    Portland Oregon
    Look at JRSILVA, VINCE, DRAMATURG's post for razor sharp portrait shots.

4. Jfrader

Jfrader Guest

If you are not using a solid tripod with a good solid head and some form of remote release, you simply won't be able to match the sharpness of those shots.

• Like Like x 1
  5. ApGfoo

ApGfoo Mu-43 Regular

Dec 10, 2012
    Bay Area
    make sure you nail the focus maybe use the magnify tool, make sure you are stable by using a tripod and make sure you choose a fast enough exposure.

For instance, if with the 25mm I'd shoot at least 1/50s hand held, anything longer might cause motion blur depending how still you are hand held. Minimum 1/90s for the 45mm and 1/100s for the 50mm, etc.

Also make sure your subject is still as well during the shot. if you shoot wide open you can stop down just a bit to help get focus correct.