1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Time lapse with GH3 and 7-14 at 7.

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by Mike Ronesia, Feb 17, 2014.

1. Mike Ronesia

Mike Ronesia Mu-43 Regular

Sep 16, 2013
    Saipan
    Mark James
    I decided to try out the time lapse feature on my GH3 this last weekend. There was a full moon so I thought it would be good to see what I could get. Here it is on Vimeo and I'll add below what I wrote on it.

[video=vimeo;86872928]https://vimeo.com/86872928[/video]

This is my first attempt at time lapse. It is about 16hrs. & 2,200 shots from 5 in the evening until 11 the next morning. It was a full moon with scattered clouds so good light most of the night. We have a street light that goes on and off a lot so the trees look a little odd during the night portion.

I went with Aperture priority and let the camera adjust shutter speed and ISO for the varying lighting conditions, with a max ISO of 1600. I set focus to manual and almost, but not quiet infinity. The camera took a shot every 30 seconds. I then made a couple of minor adjustments in LR 5.3 that I applied to all of the shots, just to keep it simple and saved them at 1080 x 1920 and set max file size to 300k per photo. I then imported into Premiere Elements and set each shot to 1 frame at 30p. I hope the Vimeo compression doesn't mess it up too bad, the 50mb saved file looks very nice.

Note: It does look much better viewing the file strait from the computer after rendering then it does after Vimeo compressed it, but still gives you the jist of it.

• Like Like x 5
  2. biomed

biomed Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 22, 2013
    Seattle area
    Mike
    Very nice. I am going to have to try time lapse.

3. hazwing

hazwing Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 25, 2012
    Australia
    good stuff!

Time lapse can create some really amazing stuff. Have you seen this time lapse video?
    http://vimeo.com/80836225
    crazy awesome stuff!

4. Ramsey

Ramsey Mu-43 Top Veteran